|
|
|
|
|
| |
Answer |
|
| |
"Mark Harr" <MarkHarr@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:1B40347B-0815-483B-B708-0A7BF38C475A@microsoft.com...
>I just received an email titled "Audit Update Request", that asked me to
> click on a link and reconfirm my MSDN subscription information to continue
> receiving MSDN magazine.
> But the links, although the message text says
> "http://msdn.microsoft.com/subscriptions", really go to an address like
> "http://recp.rm05.net/ctt?kn=1&m=47720&r=Mjk2......" (address truncated,
> but
> you get the idea). The email itself says it is from "MSDN Magazine" but
> the
> address is msdnmag@neodata.com, and the mail server it came from is
> mail2017.rm02.net.
>
> Is this a legit message from MSDN magazine? If so, with the prevalence of
> phishing attempts that are out there, I would think that you not engage in
> hiding web links under different names.
Hi Mark -
I understand the concern that this has caused; I would have thought the same
thing had I received the mail. This was a legitimate email that was sent out
by a third party on our behalf. Unfortunately, they added the redirect
without our knowing about it, as a "value add" for us. We have directed them
not to do this in the future. If you are concerned about this, you can
always go directly to the Subscriptions page without going through the dodgy
looking hyperlink.
Joshua Trupin
Executive Editor, MSDN Magazine
|
| |
|
| |
Was this post helpful to you? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reply |
| |
 |
|
Top |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
Thank you <i>very much</i> for the reply.
I had pretty much given up on this message, and would just let the message
drop, and probably my subscription. I will go to MSDN Downloads and get the
form there (as I had in the past) and renew. I do appreciate that you did
respond, and even more so that you see the confusion and took the steps to
rectify the problem.
Again, sincere thanks.
Mark
"Joshua Trupin (MSDN Magazine)" wrote:
>
> "Mark Harr" <MarkHarr@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:1B40347B-0815-483B-B708-0A7BF38C475A@microsoft.com...
> >I just received an email titled "Audit Update Request", that asked me to
> > click on a link and reconfirm my MSDN subscription information to continue
> > receiving MSDN magazine.
> > But the links, although the message text says
> > "http://msdn.microsoft.com/subscriptions", really go to an address like
> > "http://recp.rm05.net/ctt?kn=1&m=47720&r=Mjk2......" (address truncated,
> > but
> > you get the idea). The email itself says it is from "MSDN Magazine" but
> > the
> > address is msdnmag@neodata.com, and the mail server it came from is
> > mail2017.rm02.net.
> >
> > Is this a legit message from MSDN magazine? If so, with the prevalence of
> > phishing attempts that are out there, I would think that you not engage in
> > hiding web links under different names.
>
> Hi Mark -
>
> I understand the concern that this has caused; I would have thought the same
> thing had I received the mail. This was a legitimate email that was sent out
> by a third party on our behalf. Unfortunately, they added the redirect
> without our knowing about it, as a "value add" for us. We have directed them
> not to do this in the future. If you are concerned about this, you can
> always go directly to the Subscriptions page without going through the dodgy
> looking hyperlink.
>
> Joshua Trupin
> Executive Editor, MSDN Magazine
>
>
> |
| |
|
| |
Was this post helpful to you? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reply |
| |
 |
|
Top |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
... and here it is December 2008, and I also see the " ...recp.rm05.net... "
buried in the SOURCE view of an email that supposably is from a CitiBank
Account telling me I have all kinds of bonus bucks ready for my viewing ...
I'm sorry, but that just isn't right! While this is not a Microsoft issue,
your conversation here, popped up when I googled the "...recp.rm05.net..."
Maybe CitiBank is getting some 'ValueAdd' company to do their work also.
Regards
Mark56
"Coogoo" wrote:
> I agree it is strange - I just received the following e-mail:
> From: GE-Recruiting.com
>
> Response to your resume posting.
>
> We have received your name and email from your resume posting service
> while reviewing your information. We may have some job opportunities that
> will interest you.
>
> You might be a very good fit for our job openings...
> We have multiple job positions available that you can view online.
>
> Please go to:
> http://recp.rm05.net/ctt?kn=1&m=545993&r=Mzk5NjI3NTY0MQS2&b=2&j=ODMzNTE3NjkS1&mt
> =1
>
> If your are interested in our open positions you can apply on-line.
>
> To view jobs, click this link
> http://recp.rm05.net/ctt?kn=1&m=545993&r=Mzk5NjI3NTY0MQS2&b=2&j=ODMzNTE3NjkS1&mt
> =1
>
>
> "Raven Lee" wrote:
>
> > Tht's very strange. I just received an email from "Human Resources - Chase-HR
> > [Chase-HR@collegemojo.messages2.com]" entitled I saw your resume....please
> > complete application. In the message it directs me to go to
> > http://recp.rm05.net/ctt?kn=1&m=486512&r=MzM0NDMxNzU1NwS2&b=2&j=Nzc2OTc3NzcS1&mt=1.
> >
> >
> > "Mark Harr" wrote:
> >
> > > I just received an email titled "Audit Update Request", that asked me to
> > > click on a link and reconfirm my MSDN subscription information to continue
> > > receiving MSDN magazine.
> > > But the links, although the message text says
> > > "http://msdn.microsoft.com/subscriptions", really go to an address like
> > > "http://recp.rm05.net/ctt?kn=1&m=47720&r=Mjk2......" (address truncated, but
> > > you get the idea). The email itself says it is from "MSDN Magazine" but the
> > > address is msdnmag@neodata.com, and the mail server it came from is
> > > mail2017.rm02.net.
> > >
> > > Is this a legit message from MSDN magazine? If so, with the prevalence of
> > > phishing attempts that are out there, I would think that you not engage in
> > > hiding web links under different names. |
| |
|
| |
Was this post helpful to you? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reply |
| |
 |
|
Top |
|
|
|
|
|