Nokia Lumia 1520
Nokia Lumia 1520 4.4 5 38 38
Phone is amazing Hello there, I got the Nokia Lumia 1520 on Sat (7th of Dec 2013). Firstly, I am a huge fan of Nokia, had a lot of Nokia phones 3310, 6620, N95, 5800, Lumia 920. Durability is phenomenal! Well, let me just say after having an Iphone 4 I decided I wanted something way more different, offering a lot of new innovative features like the wireless charging, the mechanical optical stabilisation, the extremely well-handled low light photography etc. and finally a new OS that is simple and offers a lot and could be easily adapted to you own likings. As an architecture student I take enormous amount of photos. I have been testing the camera in the past few days and the output is amazing; level of details is excellent, pictures are crisp and clear. But it is not only the camera that is really impressive. I love all the apps that Nokia has done, especially Here drive, Nokia Cam, Creative Studio, Mix Radio etc. Social media is really well-integrated as well. I know the screen is a bit big, but , in my opinion, it just feels more solid and quite easy to handle, giving you more working space. And it is, indeed, probably the best screen you can get on a phone - colours are really vibrant, everything appears really crisp no matter in what environment you're using it. In a nutshell, you're getting a phone with the highest spec under the hood (to present date) plus a lot of storage space plus a lovely design and a mind-blowing camera for a price tag that is affordable (in my opinion). 10 December 2013
Perfect match for Windows 8.1 I have had the phone since December 11th as a replacement for my HTC Titan courtesy of an insurance claim. Communication: ------------------ Have had no problem with mobile signal reception, i.e. have signal when my work colleagues using other phones have a signal so reception is on par with other phones. WIFI is much better than my old HTC Titan. Reception in my study at home was a hit and miss affair but with the Nokia I have rock solid reception in every area of my house so a definite improvement here. Skype Video calls are outstanding especially if the connected party has a HD camera. Audio/Video Capture: ----------------------- The audio video capture, I recorded some live performances of some friends of mine and was left open mouthed at the sound quality its streets ahead of what I expected from a phone and is in a totally different league when compared to my old HTC Titan. Camera: --------- My wife who is not technical at all remarked that the photo quality was outstanding. For the first time I went on holiday without a pocket camera as the Nokia was more than adequate. I tried some night shots and all my friends were very impressed by the results. The built in tutorials to help you setup the camera is a stroke of genius enabling you to quickly find out how to setup the camera before taking some challenging shots. Apps: ----- As I use the phone mostly for business I don't really need many apps. However the Nokia MixRadio is by far my favourite application as I listen to music why I work. The Nokia Here built in nav with voice turn by turn instruction came into its own when I was on Holiday in East Africa and driving on unfamiliar roads it got me to where I wanted to get to. No fuss and awesome. Ease Of Use: -------------- I use the phone mostly for communication and taking notes for which the built in office comes into its won thanks to the large screen. Definitely a lost easier to use than the HTC Titan. Bigger is better. Video Play Back: ----------------- The HD playback and awesome 32G was enough to keep me in movies on a ten day holiday. I only got time to watch three out of eight movies I had uploaded. Audio Setup: --------------- Having Dolby and an equaliser allowed me to setup my sound exactly as I want it and that was a great relief which means there are no niggles as far as the phone is concerned. I had thought that this would be an area where I would have to compromise. 03 January 2014
Nokia Hardware + Windowsphone OS - Its a match made in Heaven I've always been a fan of the phablet market, but since WindowsPhone didn't feature any I've used a variety of other WindowsPhone based handsets including the Nokia 920 and 520 both of which are awesome phones - when Nokia announced the 1520 I was over the moon and couldn't wait to get my hands on one. After visiting the Gadget show in London I managed to spend some time with a 1520 and I was instantly sold. The Nokia Lumia 1520 is a true powerhouse covering all aspect of a modern mobile. The build quality is of the highest standard and feels sturdy in the hand given its massive screen, within hours of use the phone feels more and more natural and before you know it anything sub 6" feels like a child's phone; don't get me wrong, there are some things you just cant do one handed but this is obvious on such a large screen. One of the most impressive features is that Nokia have managed to keep wireless charging while maintaining a nice slim form. WindowsPhone is ultra snappy flicking between apps and playing games is a different league altogether. You would think battery life is an issue with so much going on but on a recent test I managed to get 36 hours before the battery saver came on which still left me an estimated 7 hours - I reckon with a little tweaking you could get 2 whole day out of the battery. As for the camera, what else can I say, its a Nokia PureView and beats anything else I have ever used with ease; I think my cats are sick of me using them as test subjects :-) SD card support is a nice feature although I'd struggle to fill the 32GB internal storage. My only issue which is common with many Nokia handsets is the speaker position; when playing games or watching a video you naturally tend to find yourself covering the speaker with your fingers, with such a stunning display it would be nice to have forward facing speakers to really round off that multimedia experience. For me the Nokia 1520 is a true 9.9 out of 10 phone. 20 January 2014
Such a unique product I got the Lumia 1520 just a couple of days ago and literally can't get it out of my hands. It's my first Nokia/Windows 8 phone and have no regrets have so ever of purchasing it. With it's endless and amazing features, it's spotless camera and great apps, the Lumia 1520 has to be on your "to get immediately" list. 27 January 2014
Apple doesn't even compare Only had the phone for 24 hours, but I love my new Lumia! As an apple user for the previous 4 years, I was struggling to move to another brand. After looking through several different operating systems and phone companies, I decided on Nokia with Windows 8. It's a breath of fresh air, with it's huge 6" full HD screen, light weight design and vibrate yellow exterior. I have defiantly made the right choice to leave Apple and come to Nokia 29 April 2014
High spec phone with a great camera and an amazing screen. The best Windows phone yet, specs good enough to run any games, a screen able to displace full 1080p HD and a Camera that takes great pictures will minimum conflict with the phones shape. I love my new phone and its got everything I need. Note though, you will have to use some unofficial apps, sadly some companies have published their own. Saying that there are also tons of apps with that come with the phone that will provide you with great replacements if your moving from iOS or android. 25 January 2014
Best phone on the market. I was gifted a 10 day trial by Nokia of the 1520.Delivery was as promised and away I went into a world of dreams only enjoyed by others normally.Instructions were minimal but the phone helps at every turn.Tutorials and help were always offered by Nokia.I used a couple of on-line tutorials(easy to follow).The internet was swift,the apps for music/video,photos,email and games were perfect.I used the photo studios a lot following a trip to Cumbria and improved my pictures tenfold.Posting the pictures on twitter,instagram,and facebook was simple after installing the apps from the windows app stop(again simple and straight to do)I downloaded a few apps and simply deleted them if of little use.Spotify being one of them.easier to use the music feature with my own playlists by inserting an sd card.Can't speak highly enough about the experience with Nokia,the phone and the service given.If I could afford the Nokia Lumia 1520,I'd gladly buy one.Everybody who saw it was in awe of it.Even the iphone users.Thanks. 28 February 2014
Wow. A Really Great Phone. I only bought this a few days ago but decided to write a review already. I read the reviews and gave it some thought. I was worried about the size of it so bought a belt clip from Caselands, an ebay shop. I really can't say enough good things about this phone. The case means I can carry it all day without worry on my belt, left hand side. It is critical that any phone can be easily carried so I'm pleased I thought about this before I bought the phone. I have however carried a phone on my belt for the past four years now. I got tired of having a pocket taken up with a phone and getting dirt in it from my pocket. The screen is amazing as is the battery life. I can use it heaps during the day and still find it 75% charged at night. I think a bigger screen is important for the way I use a phone as it is used not only for checking products and prices but for setting appointments, answering messages etc.. My personal use includes photos and Facebook posting. Phone calls are only a part of my phone usage. This is my mobile computer. I had an iPhone for two years (and really liked it except I wanted a bigger screen) then a month ago bought a Nokia 520 to test Windows Phone. I found I loved Windows Phone and the little 520 was amazing value, almost good enough but I wanted a phone with a bigger screen. I am now waiting for Windows Phone 8.1 but I love this phone already and I haven't even begun to really use it but everything from screen, to speaker phone to overall performance is simply superb. 04 July 2014
2 Next>>