When your Nokia phone is synced with your Exchange server, the security information by your Exchange Administrator is transferred to your phone. These include application wipe. An application wipe is a security feature used to erase all application data from a phone. Mail for Exchange wipe removes from your phone, all email content, contact entries, and calendar entries that you have synced from your Exchange server.

A Mail for Exchange application wipe can occur for the following reasons:

  1. A local wipe occurs after too many failed password attempts. The maximum number of attempts is set by the Exchange security policies. 
  2. A remote wipe occurs when you remove your phone from being one of the devices that your want to be connected to your Exchange server.
  3. The Exchange Administrator can force a remote wipe from the Exchange server to ensure corporate security.