To use CRM for Outlook, you must sign in with your credentials (an email address and password). You may choose to save this information locally so that you aren't asked for your credentials each time you open Outlook. If you choose to save this information, CRM for Outlook will automatically connect to Microsoft Dynamics CRM every time you open Outlook.
After the first time you sign in and use CRM for Outlook, the connection between your computer and CRM will always be open when you have access to the Internet. You may choose to turn off the connection between your computer and CRM by setting an option. If you turn off the connection, CRM for Outlook may exhibit decreased performance.
If you use CRM for Outlook to track email, the email thread will be visible to users in your organization who have permission to view it.
For every email you receive, CRM for Outlook will send CRM the sender's email address, the recipient's email address, and the subject line of the message. This enables CRM to validate whether any particular mail should be stored by the CRM service. When you track an item, a copy of that item will be maintained by the CRM service and will be visible to other users in your organization who have the right permissions. When you untrack an item, that copy is automatically deleted from the CRM service only if you own the item.