Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013 Customer Center
Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Customer Center
Search Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013 Customer Center

Sign out or reconfigure CRM for tablets

If you share a tablet with another person, or if you need to sign in to a different organization (for example, if you need to sign in to a test installation), you don't have to uninstall and reinstall the Microsoft Dynamics CRM for tablets app. You can use either the sign out or the reconfigure options instead.

Applies to

This feature is only available in organizations that have applied product updates for CRM Online Spring '14 or CRM 2013 Service Pack 1 (on-premises). More information: Install product updates You also need the latest versions of the Microsoft Dynamics CRM for tablets apps.

Sign out of the CRM for tablets app

Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 apps

  1. Swipe in from the right to open the command bar.

  2. Tap Settings.

  3. Tap Sign Out.

iPad or Android apps

  1. Tap the More Commands icon on the bottom of the screen to open the command bar.

  2. Tap Settings.

  3. Tap Sign Out.

You can sign in again as the same or different user, or you can sign in to a different organization.

Reconfigure the CRM for tablets app

Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 apps

  1. Swipe in from the right to open the command bar.

  2. Tap Settings.

  3. Tap Reconfigure.

iPad or Android apps

  1. Tap the More Commands icon on the bottom of the screen to open the command bar.

  2. Tap Settings.

  3. Tap Reconfigure.

You can now sign in to a different server or organization.

What's the difference between sign out and reconfigure?

Sign out

Signing out deletes data and authentication tokens from the cache, and it also deletes cookies on iPad and Android tablets. Signing out does not delete metadata. This means that if a user signs in again after signing out, a metadata sync is not required before using the application again, which can save a few minutes when you sign in.


Caution

CRM for tablets makes a best effort to delete data and authentication tokens from the cache; it is not guaranteed that this will occur in every situation.


Reconfigure

Reconfiguring deletes all data and metadata from the cache.

If you sign out from one organization and sign in to another, and use the Reconfigure option on the second one, your metadata will still remain for the first organization. If you want to remove your metadata from the first one, you'll need to sign in to it and use the Reconfigure option there, as well.


Caution

CRM for tablets makes a best effort to delete data and metadata from the cache; it is not guaranteed that this will occur in every situation.


Note about pinned tiles

If you're using a Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 tablet and had pinned tiles to your Start screen, those tiles will remain whether you use the Sign Out or Reconfigure option. These tiles will only work for users who have access to that record or view, however. For example, if you sign in as user1 from org1 and pinned a tile to Start, someone who signs in as user2 from org2 and taps that tile will receive an error message saying the record isn't available.

 
Was this information helpful?