Microsoft Volume Licensing Blog iconTwitter

Microsoft Open Programs affiliate participation policy

The Microsoft Open License, Open Value, and Open Value Subscription programs (the Open Programs) allow customers to share agreements and accompanying benefits—such as price levels, centralized license management, and license transfer — with their legal Affiliates throughout a Defined Region. Consolidation of purchase, license transfer, and sublicensing are not allowed beyond the Defined Region boundaries identified below. The term “Affiliate” is defined in the relevant Open Program agreement.

The following table shows the Defined Region boundaries for Affiliate participation under the Open Programs. Customers and resellers must sign agreements and place orders with resellers within the same Defined Region. Other local restrictions may apply for distributors.

Note: The table does not apply to the Open Programs for government organizations or for charitable organizations. In these programs, the Defined Region is the country in which the customer is located. Open License for charitable organizations is offered only in select regions.

Open Programs Defined Regions

Each bullet in the following list identifies a Defined Region boundary for the Open Programs.

Affiliate Participation and Transaction Defined Region Boundary

North America

  • Canada
  • United States

Latin America and the Caribbean

  • Argentina and Uruguay
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Mexico
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Venezuela
  • Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama
  • The Caribbean: Jamaica, The Bahamas, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, and other Caribbean Islands


  • Countries in the European Union (EU) and/or European Free Trade Association (EU/EFTA)

Non-EU Central and Eastern European Countries

  • Non-EU/EFTA Central and Eastern European countries/regions, including Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, and countries that are part of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)
  • Note: Does not include Russia.


  • Russia

Middle East and Africa

  • Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Israel, Kenya, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, Zimbabwe, the Mediterranean, and other Middle Eastern and African countries

Asia Pacific

  • Australia, Brunei, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and other countries in the Southeast Asia and Pacific regions


  • Japan

Greater China

  • China, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, and Taiwan


  • India

East Asia

  • Bhutan, Bangladesh, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

Did you find this page helpful? YesNo