Nokia Switch

About Switch

qgn-menu-switch.jpgSelect Menu > Ctrl. panel > Switch.

You can use the Switch application to copy content such as phone numbers, addresses, calendar items, and images from your previous Nokia device to your device. The type of content you can transfer depends on the model of your old device.

If you cannot use your old device without a SIM card, insert the card in it. You can use Switch in your new device without a SIM card.

Copy content from your old device

You can use the Switch application to copy content such as phone numbers, addresses, calendar items, and images from your previous compatible Nokia device to your new device.

switch.jpg

Copy content for the first time

  1. To retrieve data from the other device for the first time, on your device, select Menu > Ctrl. panel > Switch.

  2. Pair the two devices. To have your device search for devices with Bluetooth connectivity, select Continue. Select the device from which you want to transfer content. You are asked to enter a code on your device. Enter a code (1-16 digits), and select OK. Enter the same code on the other device, and select OK. The devices are now paired.

    If your old Nokia device does not have the Switch application, your new device sends it in a message. Open the message in the old device, and follow the instructions on the display.

  3. On your device, select the content you want to transfer from the other device.

    When the transfer has started, you can cancel it and continue later.

Content is transferred from the memory of the other device to the corresponding location in your device. The transfer time depends on the amount of data to be transferred.

The type of content that can be transferred depends on the model of the device from which you want to transfer content. If that device supports synchronization, you can also synchronize data between the devices. Your device notifies you if the other device is not compatible.

Synchronize, retrieve, or send content

Select Menu > Ctrl. panel > Switch.

After the first transfer, select from the following to start a new transfer, depending on the model:

qgn-prop-switch-synchronise.jpgqgn-prop-switch-synchronise.jpg

to synchronize content between your device and the other device, if the other device supports synchronization. The synchronization is two-way. If an item is deleted in one device, it is deleted in both. You cannot restore deleted items with synchronization.

qgn-prop-switch-fetch.jpgqgn-prop-switch-fetch.jpg

to retrieve content from the other device to your device. With retrieval, content is transferred from the other device to your device. You may be asked to keep or delete the original content in the other device, depending on the device model.

qgn-prop-switch-store.jpgqgn-prop-switch-store.jpg

to send content from your device to your other device

If you cannot send an item, depending on the type of the other device, you can add the item to the Nokia folder, to C:\Nokia or E:\Nokia in your device. When you select the folder to transfer, the items are synchronized in the corresponding folder in the other device, and vice versa.

Use shortcuts to repeat a transfer

After a data transfer, you can save a shortcut with the transfer settings to the main view to repeat the same transfer later.

To edit the shortcut, select Options > Shortcut settings. For example, you can create or change the name of the shortcut.

A transfer log is shown after every transfer. To view the log of the last transfer, select a shortcut in the main view and Options > View log.

Handle transfer conflicts

If an item to be transferred has been edited in both devices, the device attempts to merge the changes automatically. If this is not possible, there is a transfer conflict. Select Check one by one, Priority to this phone, or Priority to other phone to solve the conflict.