Select the Backup option when creating a backup from your phone and restoring it to the same phone or to another phone of the same model. Select the Content Transfer option when transferring phone contents (contacts, messages, calendar items, and so on) to another supported phone model (for example, when you buy a new phone).

Content Transfer doesn't transfer all data from one phone to another, for example, phone settings are not transferred.