Home > Licensing Options > Open Programs

Licensing Options

Microsoft Open Programs Affiliate Participation Policy

The Microsoft Open License, Open Value, and Open Value Subscription programs (the Open Programs) allow customers to share agreements and accompanying benefits—such as price levels and centralized license management—with their legal affiliates throughout a defined geographic territory. Consolidation of purchase, license transfer, and sublicense are not allowed beyond the defined geographic territory. The term affiliate is defined in the relevant Open Program agreement.

The following table shows the defined territories for affiliate participation under the Open Programs. Customers and resellers must place agreements and orders with partners within the same defined region. Other local restrictions may apply for distributors.

Note: The table does not apply to the Open Programs for government organizations or for charitable organizations—in these programs, the affiliate territory/defined region is the country in which the customer is located. Open Program for charitable organizations is offered only in limited regions.

Open License and Open Value Territory Listings


Affiliate Participation and Transaction Territory Boundary

Each bullet in the following list identifies a distinct territory boundary for the Open Programs.

North America
  • Canada

  • United States

Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Argentina and Uruguay

  • Bolivia

  • Brazil

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Ecuador

  • Mexico

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Venezuela

  • Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama

  • The Caribbean: Jamaica, The Bahamas, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, and other Caribbean Islands

  • Countries in the European Union (EU) and/or European Free Trade Association (EU/EFTA)

Non-EU Central and Eastern European Countries
  • Non-EU Central and Eastern European countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, and countries that are part of Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

    Note: Does not include Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, or Serbia

  • Russia

Middle East and Africa
  • Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Israel, Kenya, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, Zimbabwe, the Mediterranean, and other Middle Eastern and African countries

Asia Pacific
  • Australia, Brunei, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and other countries in the Southeast Asia and Pacific regions

  • Japan

Greater China
  • China, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, and Taiwan

  • India

East Asia
  • Bhutan, Bangladesh, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

For further details, please contact your local Microsoft office or local reseller.

Was this information useful?


E-mail this page

Thanks for responding. Your feedback helps us improve the site.