To select a restore point

1.

Click the most recent, bold date on which you remember your computer performing satisfactorily.

You can click the arrows on either side of calendar to display a different month.

2.

Click a restore point on that date.

You can have one or more of the following types of restore points:

Initial system checkpoints 

This restore point is created the first time you start your computer after upgrading Windows XP Professional or when you first start a new computer. Selecting this restore point reverts Windows XP Professional and programs to the state they were in at that time. Any files with data file name extensions (such as .doc, .htm, .xls, etc.) and all files in the My Documents folder are not restored.

If System Restore must remove all old restore points to make room for new changes, a new restore point is created, and restore points creation resumes from that time. For information about adjusting the disk space used by System Restore, see Disk Space Issues 

System checkpoints 

System Restore creates restore points on a regular basis even if you have not made any changes to the system. System Restore automatically creates these restore points:

every 24 hours of calendar time

or

every 24 hours your computer is turned on

If your computer is turned off for more than 24 hours, System Restore creates a restore point the next time you start the computer. The computer must be idle for a few minutes before System Restore creates a scheduled restore point.

Selecting a scheduled restore point restores Windows XP Professional and programs to the state that they were in at that time. Any files with data file name extensions (such as .doc, .htm, .xls, and so on) and all files in the My Documents folder are not restored.

Program name installation restore points 

When you install a program by using the latest installers such as InstallShield and Windows XP Professional Installer, System Restore creates a restore point. Use these restore points to track changes made to your system or to restore your computer to the state that it was in before you install the program.

Selecting this restore point removes installed files and registry settings, and it restores programs and Windows XP Professional system files altered by the installation. Any files with data file name extensions (such as .doc, .htm, .xls, etc.) and all files in the My Documents folder are not restored.

To revert the changes caused by a program that does not use one of the specified installers, select the most recent restore point before the program was installed.

Windows XP Professional Auto Update restore points 

If you use Windows XP Professional automatic update to receive downloaded updates automatically, System Restore creates a restore point before installing the updating software. If items are downloaded, but not installed, a restore point is not created. A restore point is created only when the new components start to install. Use these restore points to track changes you made to your system or when these updates might conflict with other products on your computer.

Manually created restore points

You can create your own restore points in the System Restore Wizard. A restore point that you create is listed with the name you gave it and is prefaced with the day, date, and time you created it. You can create a restore point when you like the way your computer is functioning or before you make changes on your computer, such as installing programs, that might make your computer function differently.

Restore operation restore points 

Each time you perform a restoration, it is a change made to your computer. System Restore creates restore operation restore points to track the change and the restoration. You can select these restore operation restore points in the Select a restore point screen in the System Restore Wizard to undo the restoration.

Unsigned device driver restore points 

System Restore immediately creates a restore point if it detects that you are installing a driver to your computer that has not been signed or certified by Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL). If the installation of the driver makes undesirable changes to your computer, you can select these restore points in the Select a restore point screen in the System Restore Wizard to undo the changes and restore your computer to the state that existed before you installed the driver.

Microsoft Backup utility recovery restore points 

When you perform a recovery using Backup utility, System Restore immediately creates a restore point before the process starts. If the recovery puts your computer in an undesirable state, you can select these restore points in the Select a restore point screen in the System Restore Wizard to undo the changes and restore your computer to the state that existed before you performed the recovery.

Notes

In this screen, you select a restore point. The days that appear in bold on the calendar contain restore points. Blue text denotes the current calendar month, and gray text denotes the past months.

If you restore to a restore point before a program was installed, that program does not work after restoration. If you want to use the program again, you must reinstall it.

System Restore does not replace the process of uninstalling a program. To completely remove the files installed by a program, you must remove the program using Add or Remove Programs in Control Panel or the program's own uninstall program. For more information see Change or remove a program 

If System Restore monitoring is turned off for a drive, and you restore to a time before the monitoring is turned off, System Restore still does not monitor that drive after restoration. If you want System Restore to monitor that drive after the restoration, you have to turn on System Restore monitoring for that drive by clicking System in Control Panel.



© 2014 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy & Cookies