To start Backup, click Start, point to All Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click Backup.
Selecting Restore security will restore security settings for each file and folder. Security settings include permissions, audit entries, and ownership This option is available only if you have backed up data from an NTFS volume used in Windows XP and you are restoring it to an NTFS volume used in Windows XP.
Selecting Restore Removable Storage database will restore the Removable Storage database. If you are not using Removable Storage to manage storage media, you do not need to select this option. Also, this will delete your existing Removable Storage database.
Selecting Restore junction points, and restore file and folder data under junction points to the original location restores junction points on your hard disk as well as the data that the junction points point to. If you do not select this check box, the junction points will be restored as common directories and the data your junction points point to will not be accessible. Also, if you are restoring a mounted drive, and you want to restore the data that is on the mounted drive, you must select this check box. If you do not select this check box, you will only restore the folder containing the mounted drive.
Selecting When restoring replicated data sets, mark the restored data as the primary data for all replicas ensures that restored File Replication service (FRS) data is replicated to your other servers. If you are restoring FRS data, you should choose this option. If you do not choose this option, the FRS data that you are restoring may not be replicated to other servers because the restored data will appear to be older than the data already on the servers. This will cause the other servers to overwrite the restored data, thereby preventing you from restoring the FRS data.
Selecting Restore the Cluster Registry to the quorum disk and all other nodes will ensure that the cluster quorum database is restored and replicated on all nodes in a server cluster. If you select this option, Backup will stop the Cluster service on all other nodes of the server cluster after the node that was restored reboots.
For more information, see To restore the contents of a cluster quorum disk
Selecting Preserve existing volume mount points will prevent the restore operation from writing over any volume mount points you have created on the partition or volume you are restoring data to. This option is primarily applicable when you are restoring data to an entire drive or partition. For example, if you are restoring data to a replacement drive, and you have partitioned and formatted the drive and restored volume mount points, you should select this option so your volume mount points are not restored. If you are restoring data to a partition or drive that you have just reformatted, and you want to restore the old volume mount points, you should not select this option.