To delete or restore files in the Recycle Bin

1.

On the desktop, double-click Recycle Bin.

2.

Do one of the following:

To restore an item, right-click it, and then click Restore.

To restore all of the items, on the Edit menu, click Select All, and then on the File menu, click Restore.

To delete an item, right-click it, and then click Delete.

To delete all of the items, on the File menu, click Empty Recycle Bin.

Note

Deleting an item from the Recycle Bin permanently removes it from your computer. Items deleted from the Recycle Bin cannot be restored.

You can also delete items by dragging them into the Recycle Bin. If you press SHIFT while dragging, the item is deleted from your computer without being stored in the Recycle Bin.

Restoring an item in the Recycle Bin returns that item to its original location.

To retrieve several items at once, hold down CTRL, and then click each item that you want to retrieve. When you have finished selecting the items that you want to retrieve, on the File menu, click Restore.

If you restore a file that was originally located in a deleted folder, the folder is recreated in its original location, and then the file is restored in that folder.

The following items are not stored in the Recycle Bin and cannot be restored:

Items deleted from network locations.

Items deleted from removable media (such as 3.5-inch disks).

Items that are larger than the storage capacity of the Recycle Bin.

Related Topics

Remove items permanently when you delete them

Change the storage capacity of the Recycle Bin

Recycle Bin overview



© 2014 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy & Cookies