To remove items permanently when you delete them

1.

On the desktop, right-click Recycle Bin, and then click Properties.

2.

Select the Do not move files to the Recycle Bin check box.

 Important

If the Do not move files to the Recycle Bin check box is selected, you will not be able to recover any items that you delete.

Note

You can also remove an item permanently by holding down SHIFT while dragging the item to the Recycle Bin 

If you want to use different Recycle Bin settings for different drives, click Configure drives independently, and then click the appropriate drive tab to change the Recycle Bin settings for that drive.

If you want to use the same Recycle Bin settings for all drives, click Use one setting for all drives.

Related Topics

Prevent delete confirmation messages from appearing

Recycle Bin overview

Delete or restore files in the Recycle Bin

Change the storage capacity of the Recycle Bin

Empty the Recycle Bin



© 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy & Cookies