Configuring Internet Sites and Services (IIS 6.0)

Internet Information Services (IIS) provides four Internet services: the World Wide Web Publishing Service (WWW service) for hosting Internet and intranet content, the File Transfer Protocol (FTP) service for hosting sites from which users can upload and download files, the Network News Transfer Protocol (NNTP) service for hosting discussion groups, and the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) service for sending and receiving e-mail messages. The WWW service is installed by default. Otherwise, install only the services that you need. After you install IIS–based Internet services, you can create sites or virtual servers, configure properties and security settings, and set up components to further customize your server.

In This Section

DNS Overview

Configuring Web Sites in IIS 6.0

Configuring FTP Sites

Configuring the NNTP Service

Configuring the SMTP Service

Additional Resources for Configuring Sites and Services in IIS 6.0

Related Information

For information about the WWW service and IIS core components, see IIS 6.0 Architecture.

For information about creating a Web site, see Common Administrative Tasks.

For information about IIS security, see Managing a Secure IIS 6.0 Solution.

For information about creating Web sites programmatically, see IIS 6.0 Administration Scripts, Tips, and Tricks.

© 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy & Cookies