Screenshots

Description

Game Preview Note: This game is a work in progress. It may or may not change over time and may not release as a final product. Please purchase only if you are comfortable with the current state of the unfinished game. Full details on the latest status of the game, how you can give feedback and report issues can be found at www.hinterlandgames.com. The Long Dark is a thoughtful, exploration-survival experience that challenges solo players to think for themselves as they explore an expansive frozen wilderness. Monitor your Condition, search for life-saving supplies, and master survival skills like fire-building, maintaining your gear, hunting, fishing, and landmark-based navigation. There are no zombies -- only you, the cold, and everything Mother Nature can throw at you. The hit Steam Early Access sandbox becomes the first survival game available on Xbox One!

Available on

Xbox One

Xbox One

Additional info

Published by
Hinterland Studio Inc.


Approximate download size
3.84 GB


  • Age rating
  • Entertainment Software Rating Board

    Teen

    Blood

    Use of Alcohol

    Use of Tobacco

    Violence

    Mild Language


Installation
Install on your home Xbox One console plus have access when you’re connected to your Microsoft account.


Publisher Info
Publisher Support


Additional terms
Xbox Live code of conduct



Ratings and reviews

Filter by:

To rate and review, sign in.

Rating:4/5

6/21/2017

Unknown

Platform: Xbox

It's a grate game but not realistic...

I've ben with this game awile now and was hoping for a more realistic interaction with the bair and wolf. for one the bow u can't even use in stelth witch makes u need a gun that is loud and needs ammo. and if u think u can't use a bow in stelth, play farcry primal. I'm going to pitch an idea ur way, sears or a walking stick to keep wolves from jumping on u all the time. u could carve a speer from the birch or maple branches. because wolves and bairs r not smarter or meaner than mankind.

7 out of 88 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

6/13/2017

omoon66

Platform: Xbox

Great Game

A pure survival game. It's pretty simple, survive. But it has good, challenging gameplay. You should've got it while it was $20, because that's a pretty good deal. But I've had many memories of this game, one including getting mauled by a bear.

28 out of 30 people found this helpful.

Rating:4/5

6/8/2017

THE8THDIMENSION

Platform: Xbox

Finally A Worth While Update

So let me start off with the great potential this game has. It truly has a unique and beautiful enviroment that is incredibly easy to get lost in. However, the biggest gripe is the length of time it takes for an update. Thankfully it looks like Story Mode is coming in August, which has been much anticipated. Although they took their time bringing Story Mode, I am truly excited to give it a try, and so should you!

745 out of 846 people found this helpful.

Rating:4/5

6/7/2017

Chaotic

Fascinating survival game

I originally played this game on the PC. And I must say just like on the console version this game is absolutely breathtaking with it's art style and ambient atmosphere and locations. This game really nails down it's survival mechanics well. While it could use some tweaking overall it's pretty much playable. "Think, don't act too rash" is the idea that you want to go with while playing this game. And with story mode coming soon. It will be interesting to see what stories are told in this game. I would like to say my only minor gripes is the lack of ambient music. And that's pretty much it.

Rating:5/5

7/3/2017

fusionemperor60

Platform: Xbox

The best survival game out there PERIOD......

#1 Let me start out with the uniqueness this game has its visual are great the soud is great heck the snow looks great. It may be a different art styal but its deffinently a good one. #2 And think about this it is still labed a game preview so this game as potential DEFININTY A BUY🙂🙂🙂👍👍👍

5 out of 7 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

5/16/2017

ISuper Gen XI

Platform: Xbox

STORY MODE REVEALED!!

All I have to tell you is that this game is amazing so far, beautiful world, challenging difficulty, and immersive game play. That being said, i've been waiting for months on the announcement of a story mode, and its FINALLY COMING in August! Look up the "Wintermute" trailer!

63 out of 71 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

5/9/2017

LeaderKills12

Platform: Xbox

Fascinating game

I honestly like this game very much because its simple, and a challenge. Especially with snow blizards and animals trying to kill you. this game truly is a masterpiece And, I cant wait for the full game to come out.

20 out of 21 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

5/6/2017

SteelcurtainMVP

Platform: Xbox

Amazing Game

this game is great...beautiful graphics great survival elements.but the problem is it gets boring after awhile.all in all great game coming from a guy who has played this game for many hours.

15 out of 18 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

4/16/2017

Nookers The Cat

Platform: Xbox

Well Worth the Money

If you love survival you'll love this game. Even without story it's incredibly addictive. Tons of space to explore and beautiful watercolor graphics. Updates & expansions do come, you just have to wait because Hinterland focuses on quality.. almost 0 bugs ever. Bottom line, most worthwhile money I've ever spent on any game. If you miss the sale, don't worry, still well worth regular price as is.

26 out of 26 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

5/28/2017

R0BoTT

Platform: Xbox

The Best Survival Game

If you're into survival games this game is really above the rest. I've played this through many updates and changes. This game is worth the money. Can't wait for the campaign to be finished.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful.

Rating:/5

Platform:

Developer comment · responded on