Screenshots

Description

Game Preview This game is a work in progress. It may or may not change over time or release as a final product. Purchase only if you are comfortable with the current state of the unfinished game. Full details on the latest status of the game, how you can give feedback and report issues can be found at http://survivetheark.com/. *PEGI RATING IS PROVISIONAL ARK: Survival Evolved on Xbox One includes an exclusive bionic “Tek” T-Rex and Safari Hat, free access to Xbox-specific ARK official servers, and a steady delivery of exclusive content prior to full game launch in June 2016. Stranded on the shores of a mysterious island, you must learn to survive. Use your cunning to kill or tame the primeval creatures roaming the land, and encounter other players to survive, dominate... and escape! TAME, TRAIN, BREED & RIDE DINOSAURS, IN A LIVING ECOSYSTEM Over 50 creatures can be tamed using a challenging subdue-&-protect process. Weaken a feral creature to knock it out, and then nursing it to health. Once tamed, you can issue commands to your Pet, which it may follow depending on how well you’ve tamed and trained it. Pets continue to level-up and consume food, and carry Inventory and Equipment. Fly a Pteranodon over the mountains, race through the jungle with a pack of Raptors, or chase down prey on a T-Rex! Experience a dynamic ecosystem with its own predator & prey hierarchies. Breed Pets through successive generations to generate the best traits. Or put more simply, breed & raise Dino Babies! FOOD, WATER, TEMPERATURE AND WEATHER Eat and drink to survive, with different foods having different nutritional values (including human meat!). All actions drain food and water, and long-distance travel is draining. Inventory weight slows you down, and the day/night cycle and weather alter the environment. Craft clothing, build shelter, and use fire to protect yourself against damage & the elements. HARVEST, CRAFT, AND PAINT ITEMS Harvest trees, ore, and more to become a master crafter. Use your hands, a Smithy, or a Fabricator to craft increasingly complex and powerful gear. Build a massive base using modular pieces--ranging from Thatch, to Wood, to Stone, to Metal. Customize your base by painting it and placing signs that you can actually draw on. Weapons, clothing, & armor gear can also be painted to express your own visual style. SUMMON THE ULTIMATE LIFE FORMS Bring rare items to special Summon locations to awaken the ARK’s mythical creatures, who arrive ready for battle. These monstrosities provide an end-game goal for the most experienced Tribes and their Pets, and yield valuable items if they are defeated. RPG STATISTICS Level-Up your survivor by gaining experience through in-game actions to learn new crafting Engrams, or find higher level item Blueprints in the most dangerous parts of the ARK. Customize the look of your character with a complex character creation system. HARDCORE MECHANICS Items have durability and wear out with use if not repaired. When you leave the game, your character remains “sleeping” in the persistent world. Your inventory also exists in the persistent world, vulnerable to theft. Death means permanent loss, and you can even enslave other players for your own purposes. LARGE WORLD PERSISTENCE On the 64+ player servers, your character, everything you built, and your pets stay in-game even when you leave. Special themed events will occur in the world with corresponding limited-run items!

Available on

Xbox One

Xbox One

Capabilities

  • Multiplayer Online- 1 to 64 players
  • Co-op Online

Additional info

Published by
Studio Wildcard


Approximate download size
32.38 GB


In-app purchases
$26.95


Installation
Install on your home Xbox One console plus have access when you’re connected to your Microsoft account.


Publisher Info
Publisher Support


Additional terms
Xbox Live code of conduct



Ratings and reviews

Filter by:

To rate and review, sign in.

Sign in

Most helpful favourable review

Rating:4/5

19/08/2016

Nocturnal Nutt

Platform: Xbox

great game!!! very addictive!!

this has to be one of the most addictive & unique games I've played in a long time, waking up with nothing & having to build everything was an awesome challenge plus there's nothing cooler than hunting while riding a T-Rex lol the next best survival game for me would be "7 day's to die" , pretty much the same thing but with Zombies lol

15 out of 18 people found this helpful.

Most helpful critical review

Rating:3/5

6/08/2016

Crazy

Platform: Xbox

Has potential.

This is a great game with a lot of potential, but i'm not the only one who's stopped playing. The servers used to all be 70/70 and there's like 700+ of them. Now they're all lucky to be sitting at 20+. This is mostly due to players wiping out everything other players have worked for just because they can and 90% of the time while the players are offline. But this isn't the only issue. The game itself requires hundreds of hours of time just to have the basic things you'll need in the game. Things which other people can take, wreck or kill in mere minutes. Taming animals is a process that can take 1-10+ hours for a single animal, and guess what? Any player with a gun can kill that 10 hour tame with a couple clips. Not to mention the resource gathering is incredibly slow, making this game only playable if you're in a group/tribe or you'll surely fail. All in all this game really is a great survival game, but it definitely needs MAJOR balancing if it's ever going to survive.

43 out of 50 people found this helpful.

Rating:4/5

19/08/2016

Nocturnal Nutt

Platform: Xbox

great game!!! very addictive!!

this has to be one of the most addictive & unique games I've played in a long time, waking up with nothing & having to build everything was an awesome challenge plus there's nothing cooler than hunting while riding a T-Rex lol the next best survival game for me would be "7 day's to die" , pretty much the same thing but with Zombies lol

15 out of 18 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

24/09/2016

Turt1e B0i

Platform: Xbox

Challenging but Fulfilling

Love being able to overcome the trial that is starting from the bottom and making it up to the top with tames and technology. Even more so with Friends. Highly recomend this to anyone who has a curiosity about it. Also, the DLC Scorched Earth is absolutley worth the money, such a fun map and a new experience to an already great game.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Rating:1/5

17/08/2016

MostSpy

Platform: Xbox

untested code, written by a guy in his house.

The game is really pre-alpha not BETA like claimed, the wannabe developer should really go look up software life cycle on wikipedia and read the definition of BETA. There is no testing done at all by the wanna-be game maker, as is evidence by the dashboarding and broken caves. There is very poor programming conventions as is evidence by the syntax of the admin commands, repition, lack of consistency and poor methods chosen. A safe assumption from this evidence is the entire game is programmed very poorly. If your looking for a proper game choose something made by a proper game studio. ARK is a bit of fun but dont expect a stable game.

16 out of 66 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

16/08/2016

Trusted

Platform: Xbox

Best Survival Game on Xbox!

I personally run my own server and have for the last 9 months+ its one of the best survival games on xbox. great to play with friends or even randoms! if your looking for a great dinosaur game where you survive build up your own home/base and even tame and ride dinosaurs then this game does not fail at delivering any of that. i highly recommend this game to sandbox players that enjoy survival games and taming your dinosaurs for your in game benfit. Love this game! great game to play with your kids too!

34 out of 39 people found this helpful.

Rating:3/5

3/09/2016

IGGY

Game is one of the Best but beware......

As a fan of dinosaur games such as turok, primal carnage and monster hunter. I thought what would stop me from buying this game? It was so cool this game when I played huge dinos and open world roaming + good graphics. However it had no storyline which would have made this game the best. However you may be wandering only 3 stars? this game is the best! But the main reason is the Scorched Earth DLC. I mean please the game is not even optimized correctly for Xbox One so only three stars. It used to be 5 but the greedy developers are losing more money than making out of this DLC

Rating:3/5

6/08/2016

Crazy

Platform: Xbox

Has potential.

This is a great game with a lot of potential, but i'm not the only one who's stopped playing. The servers used to all be 70/70 and there's like 700+ of them. Now they're all lucky to be sitting at 20+. This is mostly due to players wiping out everything other players have worked for just because they can and 90% of the time while the players are offline. But this isn't the only issue. The game itself requires hundreds of hours of time just to have the basic things you'll need in the game. Things which other people can take, wreck or kill in mere minutes. Taming animals is a process that can take 1-10+ hours for a single animal, and guess what? Any player with a gun can kill that 10 hour tame with a couple clips. Not to mention the resource gathering is incredibly slow, making this game only playable if you're in a group/tribe or you'll surely fail. All in all this game really is a great survival game, but it definitely needs MAJOR balancing if it's ever going to survive.

43 out of 50 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

13/08/2016

Jon

Platform: Xbox

.

Bought this as a trial, best game out, heaps of content and easy to sink lots of time into

19 out of 26 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

20/09/2016

VIP Canna

Platform: Xbox

Best Survival Game So Far

This game is awesome real hard when you start but one you start to figure things out it gets alot easier. IT'S GOT DINO'S IN IT!!!

One person found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

17/06/2016

Doug

Platform: Xbox

Best game in a long time.

Initially, I bought this game as a fill in until the "Division" came out. But as time went on, I found myself hooked on this game that I had never played anything like before. I had dedicated much of my time to Ark that it became intergrated into my daily routine. While playing in a PvP Server, it was always tense with the looming danger over our Tribes heads from other people and Tribes. I like the rush of that danger, the what ifs of our actions. I would like to show my appretiation to everyone involved with the creation of Ark. Thank you all. Long live Dethklok of Server 42. p.s. free potato cakes for all.

34 out of 41 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

11/08/2016

Mary

Platform: Xbox

BEST GAME EVER!

I LOVED THE BOSSES AND THE NEW DINOS BUT I WISH THERE WERE MODS

6 out of 7 people found this helpful.

Rating:/5

Platform:

Developer comment · responded on