Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE)

The globally recognised standard for IT professionals

Prove your ability to build innovative cloud and on-premises solutions across multiple technologies.

Choose an MCSE certification to view its details and required exams:

Frequently asked questions

The following questions specifically address the Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) certifications. Visit the Certification overview or Exam policies and FAQ pages for answers to general questions regarding Microsoft Certification or the exams.

What is the difference between the new MCSE specialties, introduced in September 2016, and the existing ones?

The new MCSE certifications (MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure, MCSE: Mobility, MCSE: Data Management and Analytics, MCSE: Productivity) are aligned to Centers of Excellence, used by the Microsoft Partner Network to identify technical competencies that are widely recognisable by both Microsoft partners and customers. These credentials do not have a recertification requirement. Instead, the achievement date signifies how you keep up with changes to the technology. Every year, you have the opportunity to re-earn the certification by passing an exam from the list of electives, demonstrating your investment in broadening or deepening your skills in a given Center of Excellence. Each time you earn the certification, a new certification entry is added to your transcript. This process replaces the existing recertification requirement of taking a specific recertification exam every three years to prevent your certification from becoming inactive.

What happens to the MCSE certifications that I earned prior to September 2016?

All MCSE certifications released prior to September 2016 will be retired on 31 March 2017.

All active MCSE certifications remain active on your transcript until retirement of the corresponding technologies, at which point the certifications are moved to the Legacy section of your transcript.

Is there an upgrade path for me if I have previously earned an MCSE certification?

To recognise your efforts in keeping your existing MCSE certification up to date, all individuals with active MCSE certifications from the following list will earn the corresponding new MCSE certification for 2016, without the need to take additional exams:

  • MCSE: Server Infrastructure
  • MCSE: Private Cloud
  • MCSE: Data Platform
  • MCSE: Business Intelligence
  • MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps
  • MCSE: SharePoint
  • MCSE: Communication
  • MCSE: Messaging
Is there an upgrade path for me if I was working towards an existing MCSE certification but have not yet earned it?

All individuals who have passed a qualifying elective exam since 1 January 2016 will be granted the corresponding new MCSE certification for 2016, without the need to take additional exams, if they have met all exam requirements.

What is the recertification requirement for all MCSE specialities released prior to September 2016?

To recertify your MCSE certification, you must pass the applicable recertification exam once every three years.

Recertification exams cover material from the exams taken to originally earn the credential, with particular emphasis on the most recent product and process changes.

What happens to my withdrawn Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer certification?

The Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer certification remains on your transcript and may be designated a Legacy certification.

Note: This technology is no longer supported by Microsoft mainstream support. We recommend that you pursue a certification on current technology.

Learn the benefits of certification

"The MCSE title has made it easier for me to get new jobs. Having the MCSE certification on your CV, helps you stand out from people who don’t have it".

Peter Letting | IT consultant | Denmark

Watch the video

Exam Replay

Boost your exam-day confidence.