Configure another organization to use with CRM for Outlook

If you’re a member of more than one Microsoft Dynamics CRM organization, and you’re using Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2015 for Outlook or later, you can use this procedure to configure each organization.

  1. Close Outlook.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • In Windows 8 or Windows 10, choose Start, search for Configuration Wizard, and then press Enter.

    • In earlier versions of Windows, choose Start, point to All Programs, choose Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2015 or Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2016> Configuration Wizard.

  3. In the Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2015 for Outlook Configuration Wizard or Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2016 for Outlook Configuration Wizard dialog box, choose the Add button to add a new organization.

    You’ll see the following (or similar) dialog box:

  4. Do one of the following:

    • If you’re using CRM Online, select CRM Online from the list.

    • If you’re using CRM 2015 on-premises or later version, open a browser, log in to your CRM organization’s website, copy the URL address (copy the whole address) from the address bar, and then paste it in the Add a Microsoft Dynamics CRM Organization dialog box.

  5. Choose Connect.

  6. If prompted, enter your credentials.

  7. Repeat steps 2 through 5 for each organization you want to add.

  8. If you want to change the organization that synchronizes email messages, appointments, contacts, and tasks, select the row for the organization, and then choose Synchronize.

    When you’re prompted about whether you want to change your synchronizing or primary organization, choose OK.


    Note

    You can synchronize information with only one organization. You can connect to or work with more than one organization. If you connect to more than one organization, they are both listed in the Dynamics CRM for Outlook Navigation Pane.


  9. Choose OK.

  10. In the wizard, choose Close.

Privacy notices

To use Microsoft Dynamics CRM for Outlook, you are required to sign in by using your credentials (an email address and password). You may choose to save this information locally so that you are not prompted for your credentials each time you open Outlook. If you do choose to save this information locally, CRM for Outlook will automatically connect to Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online every time you open Outlook.

After the first time you sign in and use CRM for Outlook, the connection between your computer and CRM Online will always be open when you have access to the Internet. You may choose to turn off the connection between your computer and CRM only by using a configuration setting, but if you do turn off the connection, CRM for Outlook may exhibit decreased performance.

If you use CRM for Outlook to track email, the email thread will be visible to users in your organization who have permission to view it.

For every email you receive, CRM for Outlook will send CRM Online the sender’s email address, the recipient’s email address, and the subject line of the message. This allows CRM Online to validate whether or not a particular mail should be stored by the CRM Online service. When you track an item, a copy of that item will be maintained by the CRM service and will be visible to other users in your organization who have the appropriate permissions. When you untrack an item, that copy is automatically deleted from CRM Online only if you own the item.

If you use Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online, when you use the Sync to Outlook feature, the CRM data you are syncing is “exported” to Outlook. A link is maintained between the information in Outlook and the information in CRM Online to ensure that the information remains current between the two. Outlook Sync downloads only the relevant CRM record IDs to use when a user attempts to track and set regarding an Outlook item. The company data is not stored on the device.

An administrator determines whether your organization’s users are permitted to sync CRM data to Outlook by using security roles.