Sign out of or reconfigure CRM for phones and tablets

If you share a tablet with another person, or if you need to sign in to a different organization or CRM server (for example, if you need to sign in to a test installation), you don’t have to uninstall and reinstall the CRM for phones and tablets app. You can use either the sign out or the reconfigure options instead.

Sign out of the CRM for tablets app

If you share a tablet with another person, this is the option you should use so you can sign out and another person can sign in.

  1. From your Home page, tap .

  2. Tap Settings.

  3. Tap Sign Out.

You can sign in again as the same or different user, or you can sign in to a different organization.

Reconfigure the CRM for tablets app

If you’re an admin, tester, or trainer, this is most likely the best option for you, so you can sign into a different environment, like a CRM sandbox installation.

  1. Tap .

  2. Tap Settings.

  3. Tap Reconfigure.

You can now sign in to a different server or organization.

What’s the difference between sign out and reconfigure?

  • Sign out

    Signing out deletes data and authentication tokens from the cache, and it also deletes cookies on iPad and Android tablets. Signing out doesn’t delete metadata. This means that if a user signs in again after signing out, a metadata sync is not required before using the application again, which can save a few minutes when you sign in.


    Caution

    CRM for tablets makes a best effort to delete data and authentication tokens from the cache; it is not guaranteed that this will occur in every situation.


  • Reconfigure

    Reconfiguring deletes all data and metadata from the cache.

    If you sign out from one organization and sign in to another, and use the Reconfigure option on the second one, your metadata will still remain for the first organization. If you want to remove your metadata from the first one, you’ll need to sign in to it and use the Reconfigure option there, as well.


    Caution

    CRM for tablets makes a best effort to delete data and metadata from the cache; it is not guaranteed that this will occur in every situation.


  • A note about pinned tiles

    If you’re using a Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 phone or tablet and had pinned tiles on your Start screen, those tiles will remain whether you use the Sign Out or Reconfigure option. These tiles will only work for users who have access to that record or view, however. For example, if you sign in as user1 from org1 and pinned a tile to Start, someone who signs in as user2 from org2 and taps that tile will receive an error message saying the record isn’t available.

Applies To

Dynamics CRM 2016

Dynamics CRM Online