Free
Play specified types of media with this extension for Windows 10.
Free
Overview System Requirements Reviews Related
Rated 2.9 out of 5 stars

66 ratings

To rate and review, sign in.

Sign in

Showing 1-10 out of 53 reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on6/1/2019

Review title of KurtThis is long over due!

This is long over due! I can finally preview my Canon RAW files from file explorer. Next step, quicker rendering during scrolling. I have a photo library with over 10,000 images. No they're not all in one folder. Still. the rendering is a little slow when switching to a different folder. Need some method of pre-rendering all file tag under the Pictures library

33 out of 43 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on5/27/2019

Review title of P.J.Strange behavior with my Nikon Z6 RAW files

I like that I can see thumbnails of my .nef RAW files produced by my Nikon Z6 camera, but when I open an individual file in the Photos app, it appears sharp and colorful momentarily, but then it becomes overly soft and desaturated after a few seconds. This only happens with my Nikon Z6 raw files, but not with my Nikon D750 files. I'd love to raise the star rating if this can get fixed.

Microsoft Corporation responded on 5/28/2019

Thanks for your interest in the Raw Image Extension. Because it could take between 1-5 seconds to decode some raw formats using the extension, Photos app immediately shows an embedded JPEG preview image (if it exist) in most raw files while the actual raw image is being decoded. The embedded JPEG is replaced with the actual raw image after decoding is complete. The raw image is rendered with no post-processing and white balance set to as shot. Note that the embedded JPEG is typically a post-processed image of the actual raw image. It's likely that raw files from your Z6 includes embedded JPEG image, while D750 does not. That said, we'll like to further investigate your issue to confirm the theory above. Can you share a sample raw image, one each from both the Z6 and D750 cameras that shows the difference? Once again, thanks for your feedback.

42 out of 63 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 2 out of 5

Submitted on11/18/2019

Review title of TeriWorks, But Doesn't

Canon Rebel T7, .crs (Raw files) are viewable after download, but the orientation is incorrect, and after displaying the image for 2-3 seconds with correct color tones, it immediately turns a violet hue. So that makes it essentially useless, or at best, highly impractical. Please help.

14 out of 19 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on9/1/2019

Review title of JillYay! At last!

The previous drivers/plug-ins/whatever for displaying ORF files (olympus) stopped working on Windows 10 a while back. Been hunting for a fix for ages. This works! So happy to have this functionality back

15 out of 21 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on6/3/2019

Review title of TaffyForced to get some random update from the internet????

This is ridiculous! Why the hell should I have to get some random beta update to open some file???

Microsoft Corporation responded on 6/3/2019

Hi Taffy, Thanks for your interest in the Raw Image Extension. The extension requires the latest retail version of Windows (version 1903) to install. Note that this is not a beta version of Windows. We just announced that the Windows 10 May 2019 Update is now being made available to non-insiders via Windows Update. See this article for instructions on how to get the update: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4028685/windows-10-get-the-update. Hope this is helpful. Once again, thanks for your feedback.

24 out of 36 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on5/27/2019

Review title of Arielnikon

won't show any of my raw photos

Microsoft Corporation responded on 5/28/2019

Hi Ariel, Thanks for your interest in the Raw Image Extension. Were you able to install the extension? You can check the version of the extension by going to Settings app > Apps, then under “Apps and Features” section of the page, search for “Raw”. Select the “Raw Image Extension”, then click on “Advanced Options” link. If there is no result, then the package is not installed. If you’re not able to install the package, then you are running a build of Windows 10 that does not meet the minimum Windows version requirement. The extension requires the latest version of Windows (May 10 Update or version 1903) to install. The Windows 10 May Update is now being made available to non-Insiders via Windows Update. See this blog post for instructions on how to get the update: https://blogs.windows.com/windowsexperience/2019/05/21/how-to-get-the-windows-10-may-2019-update/. You can use this option if the Windows 10 May update is available for your device. Hope this is helpful.

19 out of 29 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on6/6/2019

Review title of JohnTint is off

It's a start but the tint is off when viewing the images in windows explorer, they have a bluish tint to them. When I click on them and view them in the photo viewer the color is correct. These are with Sony ARW files and Fuji RAF files. At least they are viewable in windows explorer

6 out of 8 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on12/13/2019

Review title of RichardLibraw new snapshot release available 10/31/19

The new libraw snapshot includes support for recently announced Canon cameras with the .cr3 extension, including my G5X mark ii. The app needs to be updated.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on5/19/2019

Review title of BrettFuji EXR Support

Exactly what I wanted/needed, and allows for quick/simple editing using Photos against my X-S1 RAFs when I want that ease of use. Being derived from libRAW/dcRAW is excellent.

9 out of 14 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on6/16/2019

Review title of WilliamFINALLY! Raw support!

I've been taking RAW photos with my Panasonic DMC-ZS60 for a while now. However, viewing them on my PC was a pain, as the codec from Panasonic doesn't work on Windows 10. This extension was so long overdue. It gave the photos app support to view my RW2 files and do some light edits on them.

11 out of 18 people found this helpful.
1-10 of 53 reviews