Surface Book 2 with  screen detached
Starting from $1,099.00
or $54.96/month for 24 months and 0% APR with Surface All Access.^ Get Started
Free standard shipping. Free returns.

$1,034.10 Special pricing for eligible students, parents, teachers, and military.
Starting from $1,099.00
Overview Tech specs Reviews Deals
Rated 3.4 out of 5 stars

207 ratings

To rate and review, sign in.

Sign in

Showing 1-10 out of 165 reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on12/29/2017

Review title of H RFinally A Surface Worthy of the Price, Highly Recommend

SBook2, 15in, I-7, 256gb is in all respects a premium device & I haven't had any of the issues noted in other reviews. Even with the 15" gorgeous screen, it's light & FAST. Every design has its +/- and the SB2 is no exception. Plus side: See specs: 8th gen I-7 & 1060 Nvidia graphics; hinge allows screen to be used as tablet with the base also without it. The battery is great under normal use (I don't game). Out-of-box experience first rate. Some minor shortcomings: Charger may be under powered, the SD card slot is short, card sticks out & could be damaged & the keyboard feels cramped, no dedicated video out, also Surface team needs to adopt Thunderbolt, USB-C is so yesterday on an otherwise VERY today device. My qualifications: 30yrs enterprise desktop support working with & evaluating PCs but this one is for me. I was looking at All-In-Ones that cost from $1985-2799 when the SB2 came out. I passed on them for the portability of an SB2 with better hardware than AIOs. Glad I did.

32 out of 37 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on2/5/2018

Review title of NickHardware falue after 2 months.

Screen cracked when I was simply carrying it under my arm. No impact, no pressure or anything to explain why. They refuse to check it for a flaw and they want $700 to fix it. Too late for a refund. Couldn't be more disappointed.

49 out of 60 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on4/3/2018

Review title of JustinNot worth the time

It arrived with a manufacturing defect (the entire right side of the clipboard was slightly bent). Got it replaced but it was with a refurbished device even though I confirmed twice that it would be with a new device. I would avoid, especially if you don’t have a Microsoft store nearby.

Microsoft Team responded on 6/20/2018

Hi Justin, We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had this experience. We understand how frustrating that can be, and want to assure you that we’ve escalated this with the appropriate teams to prevent this type of miscommunication in the future. If you’d like further support, then we’d recommend you speak with our support team, here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/contactus/. Kindly, Victoria Surface Customer Care

12 out of 13 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on6/14/2018

Review title of ToshikiDesign flaw & fragile screen that costs $600 to replace

Only after a month of purchase, a random crack has appeared near the rear camera side of the screen. I looked into this issue, and apparently others have experience the same fragility and design flaw of the product. The replacement cost for the screen is $600.

21 out of 25 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on8/21/2018

Review title of KuanyuDetached Tablet mode, screen battery only last 1.5 Hour

I bought the 1T 15" one. With $3000+ price, I expect when you detach the screen, the battery of it will last for at least 4 hours. Guess what, after I detach my "tablet" part, the battery usually last no longer than 1.5 hours. Yes, 1.5 hours!!! And this is still within warranty time. DO NOT BUY!

14 out of 16 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 2 out of 5

Submitted on7/6/2018

Review title of DaveDisappointed

The title says it all. I was excited at the endless possibilities. Detachable tablet. Full computer. Touchscreen. Pen input. I waited for the second generation to make sure the kinks were out. I sold my 2016 MacBook Pro. Yeah, the title says it all. This thing has so much potential but it just falls short. The screen flickers often even after changing my power settings. The WiFi often doesn't connect when right next to the wireless access point or randomly disconnects. The dock is woefully lacking and grossly overpriced. The video card doesn't put out the power I'd hoped for. Is it a decent laptop? Sure. Is it worth the money? No. I will be switching back to a MacBook Pro as soon as I can find a buyer for this Surface Book 2 and considering how excited I was, that makes me very sad.

13 out of 15 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on5/5/2018

Review title of PalBroken Hearted

I had been saving my money for this dream machine over half a year. I had been using a MacBook pro for 4 years and not once I had felt switching, till they launched the 15 inch version. And finally I was able to buy it. What a device, what a minimal beauty, I was astonished since the time I opened the package and turned it on. I am a designer and this machine is made for people like us. I also bought the much necessary pen and the dial and eventually the precision mouse. What a beautiful portable workstation. I was literally paperless after trying to do that for almost a half a decade now. But then one fine day I opened the laptop and found that the screen had a crack. The most troubling part was last night I just closed the lid and slept. There was no fall, no physical damage or anything else, absolutely nothing. I was baffled. How can this happen and I don't know who or what to blame. My MacBook has survived worst falls and it still is intact. I am disappointed and broken hearted.

Microsoft Team responded on 6/20/2018

Hi there, We’re sorry to hear that this is the experience you had with your Surface Book 2! We’d like to look into this for you, so we can see what we can do to help you out. Please create a ticket with our team here (aka.ms/SurfaceCare-us) using the individual reference code, 1806158410038, and our team can do their best to see what we can do. Kindly, Victoria Surface Customer Care

31 out of 40 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on5/10/2018

Review title of Sam4 Different 15 Inch Models in 15 Days

I really don't want to give this review. The Surface Book 2, on paper, is an incredible achievement. However, Microsoft is currently preying upon the public in their testing and insurance practices. To summarize, the first 15 inch Surface Book 2 I purchased had dead pixels on the screen, which I noticed and returned. During the return, the technician brought out a new Surface Book 2 (same specs, 15 in/256GB/Core i7) only to find that it had numerous scratches already on it. Out of the BOX. That was exchanged for another one. The next one's wifi card did not work. No wifi at all. Exchanged. I had the Microsoft team run diagnostics on the next one before I even touched it: Battery issues and memory issues. Microsoft is pumping these out before they are ready to be sold and without proper testing. GET A HARDWARE DIAGNOSTIC TEST BEFORE YOU BRING THIS HOME! Or just don't bring this home. If it works, it's incredible. It does not work.

Microsoft Team responded on 6/20/2018

Hello Sam, Thank you for your honesty and sharing your experience with us. We read each review that comes in, and it’s our goal to make our products and experiences better for our customers. We’ve shared your review with our team, for a read and their consideration in the future. If you’d like to provide more information on your device and experience, please generate a ticket with our team here, aka.ms/SurfaceCare-us, using the reference number 1806152810042. Kindly, Victoria Surface Customer Care

12 out of 14 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on5/16/2018

Review title of MichaelHappy I waited for the SB2, 15"

Love this beast. My only concern is that the battery does not have the life it should on a charge. That, and having a power supply that could actually supply the right amount of power under a full workload would be a smarter choice than the one they made. Still a Surface fan-boy, however.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on4/6/2018

Review title of HarrisonSeriously, what’s wrong with this charger.

I am fully aware that Microsoft disclosed that the Surface book 2 drains more battery then it can replenish when plugged in. This is still no excuse for why that was allowed to begin with. I know they put in measures to ensure that it never runs out of power fully, but that in my opinion is the lazy man’s way out. That surface port has, if memory serves me right, the ability to withstand 145 Watts. Why they wouldn’t put a 130 w charger in with it is something that baffles me. This isn’t a STEM tool like they claim. When you need to run programs that are graphically intensive such as design and cam software you dont want a laptop that, when you unplug it, is at low battery. That’s not cool. Also no thunderbolt 3 seriously? That’s just lazy. I hope they release a performance base with updated inputs and chargers.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.
1-10 of 165 reviews