Surface Keyboard
$99.99
Free standard shipping. Free returns.
$99.99
Original price was $99.99, current price $89.99  

$89.99 Special pricing for eligible students, parents, teachers and military. May not be combinable with other offers.
$99.99
Overview Tech specs Reviews
Rated 3.3 out of 5 stars

75 ratings

To rate and review, sign in.

Sign in

Showing 1-10 out of 71 reviews

User Rating: 2 out of 5

Submitted on6/25/2017

Review title of PierreNo backlit keys on a premium Keyboard in 2017 = no deal

Why in the world would Microsoft not include backlit keys? Honestly, this is a nearly perfect Bluetooth keyboard. The high price tag just doesn't seem appropriate without illuminated keys.

43 out of 64 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 4 out of 5

Submitted on7/2/2018

Review title of TonyBacklight please

Looks great. Excellent build. Truly a pleasure to type on. Please please please release a version that has backlighting!

18 out of 25 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on11/1/2017

Review title of QJI am back to revise my comments again

This is second time I revised my comments. This time I bring my comments back to 5 stars. Microsoft exports helped me resolve a serious question. I originally thought that my keyboard was broken. My keyboard was still connected with my laptop, but all keys did not work, even the light indicators of caps and num did not work. It seemed that my keyboard was broken. It is very simple to resolve. Right click the start, go to Device manger, then click Bluetooth list, choose and uninstall the keyboard, restart laptop, go to settings and connect the keyboard.

Victoria responded on 11/20/2017

Hello QJ, We’re so happy to see that you came back to the site to update your review! We’re glad that we were able to get this all fixed and sorted out for you and that your Surface Keyboard is working properly now. You know where to reach it if we can help with anything else! Kindly, Victoria Surface Customer Care

15 out of 21 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 2 out of 5

Submitted on8/24/2018

Review title of JohnConnectivityyyyyy problem

I can hardly find any faults with the physical aspects of the keyboard. Looks great, feels great. I would prefer to have a slightly wider gutter between backspace and insert keys, but this would depend on the personal taste. Unfortunately, the software side of the keyboard makes it nearly unusable. Like others, I have connectivity issue with his keyboard that I never had with any other Bluetooth peripherals -- freezing, lagging, typing things I'm not pressing, etc. The review heading I left unedited reflects this issue. Driver update and other troubleshooting advices failed to fix this issue. Until this problem gets fixed, I would refrain from purchasing the keyboard.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 1 out of 5

Submitted on10/9/2017

Review title of JohnSometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't..

It's a good keyboard, love the design and all that good stuff.. I just wished it worked all the time. I hope Microsoft fixes it.

Victoria responded on 11/20/2017

Hello John, We are sorry to hear that you have been running into some issues with your Surface Keyboard. Even though we don’t have much info on what seems to be going on with your Surface Keyboard, we would recommend troubleshooting here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4023473/surface-troubleshoot-your-surface-type-cover-or-keyboard. If in the case you still need assistance after this, please reach out to us at SurfaceCustomerCare@microsoft.com. Kindly, Victoria Surface Customer Care

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on8/12/2018

Review title of GinaSimultaneous Switch button

I wish this has the feature of simultaneous switch like the MS Surface Precision Mouse. It would be very helpful to switch to another computer with a push of a button and not have to keep turning on and off to connect to another computer for work and personal computer at home. Otherwise, I do love the keyboard.

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 3 out of 5

Submitted on1/12/2017

Review title of hifijohnnyNo backlight caused a three star rating!

I enjoy everything about this keyboard until the room darkens and I can no longer see where to place my fingers to start typing. All the hype about this perfect keyboard and I figured it must have backlighting. I will not make that mistake again.

19 out of 30 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 4 out of 5

Submitted on3/12/2017

Review title of Herrmann117A Keyboard Here to Stay

As with the computer world, mechanical keyboards have taken everyone by storm, and I may be one for the few but I can't stand them. For a longtime I repurprosed a wired Mac Keyboard because I loved the look and the short and quiet keystrokes. However, it began to fail me and I hated that it was wired and I had to run certain software to even allow me to use the multimedia keys. Once I saw Microsoft release this keyboard I knew I had to get it. It was a full keyboard (num pad is a must have for me), wireless and having a surface and a desktop the multimedia keys looked perfect. Once I received it I did fall in love. The texture of the keys feels like a 'soft' plastic that has become somewhat standard these days. Some things that I enjoy and took me by surprise: - Locking FN key: I hadn't seen this before but dear god do I love it. Similar to how we see the num lock work, the FN key allows you to lock and unlock it. This means that weather you want the multimedia keys to be on all the time or you want access to the F# keys, with a simple click of the FN key you have one or the other. - All the Windows 10 specific shortcut keys: as someone who has fully embraced Win10 I love being able to popup a calculator or have a quick search key or to change desktops. Especially while using this keyboard on the surface, its wonderful. - Battery life: I have used this keyboard daily since I received it back in the beginning of January (its been almost 3 months), and haven't yet had to change the batteries. If you are someone that is coming from a wired keyboard this may seem like a hassle, but with other wireless keyboards I have had, I've had them die anywhere from 1 month to 4. I am just fine with how this has held up thus far! Some gripes or some things I'd like changed/added: - Probably my largest complaint is that when you don't use the keyboard for a moment or two (probably in the 60-120sec range, it'll go into what I am going to call a 'hibernate' mode. It is still there but when you go to begin typing again there is a small delay from when it begins to register which can cause me a moment of misspelling (because of me, not the keyboard). However, having used it now for a bit, its something I have gotten used to. - I would LOVE just a bit of space between the main keyboard and the insert/delete/arrow keys. I find it can be difficult for me to find the arrow keys without looking down because I usually judge it off the gap between the keys. Again something that me being a novice typer is more the cause of than the keyboard, but just my opinion - As a person with multiple computers (surface and a few desktops), I would love to see a quick connect to different computers. This is something I have seen in just a few keyboards, but if it were introduced I would by a new one in a heartbeat. I have the Logitech MX Master Mouse, which has a wonderful quick select between computers and it is easily my favorite feature. Overall: I gave it a four because to me, almost no keyboard is perfect. However this is (embarrassingly) my 9th keyboard in 3 years, starting with the cheapest of cheap wireless combos, to mechanical, to apple and now to this, I am whole heartedly happy with this keyboard thus far. I look forward to Microsoft's next iteration of peripherals, keep up the good work folks!

12 out of 18 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on10/3/2017

Review title of BrynanIncredible Keyboard

This keyboard is probably the best keyboard I've ever used. It feels very comfortable to type on because of how your fingers naturally find the middle of the keys thanks to the same slight indent that they use on the surface devices. Also appreciate the dedicated screen lock and Action Center buttons. If you love typing on your Surface device, this keyboard provides the same amazing experience with even more key travel. Regarding other reviewers' complaints: -I don’t mind no illuminated keys because that would just drastically decrease battery life and I’m never going to use a full size external keyboard outside my desk in the dark (unlike, say, a laptop). -The price is a bit steep, but the quality is excellent. Also consider Apple's equivalent offering costs $30 more (also doesn't have illuminated keys). -I don't have any of the connectivity issues (I'm using a Surface Book w/ Performance Base).

Victoria responded on 11/20/2017

Hi there Brynan, We’re glad to hear that you’re loving your Surface Keyboard, Brynan! Thank you for the kind words and praise on this keyboard. We strive to make the best quality products for our customers, and are glad that you love your keyboard. Kindly, Victoria Surface Customer Care

10 out of 15 people found this helpful.

User Rating: 5 out of 5

Submitted on5/16/2017

Review title of aus1_A Masterpiece

I bought this a while ago, but finally arrived from overseas, and it's just beautiful, it's perfect. Everything, from the unboxing, the feel of the smooth keys, the sturdy build quality, the way it connects to my PC effortlessly, automatically, like magic. The typing experience is also wonderful too, with my full-sized laptop keyboard I was getting so frustrated because I just couldn't accommodate to the layout, and HP made some really weird decisions (Split up and down arrow keys in a gaming laptop? What?), but with this, typing just come naturally. I just wish it had backlighting. For the next version, maybe? Please?

4 out of 5 people found this helpful.
1-10 of 71 reviews