Approaching the end of Moore’s Law: time to reinvent the system stack? Morning Sessions I


August 1, 2014


Mark Horowitz, Steven Swanson, Lin Zhong, and James Larus


Stanford University, University of California, San Diego, Rice University, EPFL



Mark Horowitz, Steven Swanson, Lin Zhong, and James Larus

Mark Horowitz is the Yahoo! Founders Professor at Stanford University and was chair of the Electrical Engineering Department from 2008 to 2012. He co-founded Rambus, Inc. in 1990 and is a fellow of the IEEE and the ACM and a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Science. Dr. Horowitz’s research interests are quite broad and span using EE and CS analysis methods to problems in molecular biology to creating new design methodologies for analog and digital VLSI circuits.

Steven Swanson is an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, San Diego and the director of the Non-volatile Systems Laboratory. His research interests include the systems, architecture, security, and reliability issues surrounding non-volatile, solid-state memories. He also co-leads projects to develop low-power co-processors for irregular applications and to devise software techniques for using multiple processors to speed up single-threaded computations. In previous lives he has worked on scalable dataflow architectures, ubiquitous computing, and simultaneous multithreading. He received his PhD from the University of Washington in 2006 and his undergraduate degree from the University of Puget Sound.

Lin Zhong received his B.S and M.S. from Tsinghua University and Ph.D. from Princeton University. He has been with Rice University since September 2005 where he is currently an associate professor. He was a visiting researcher with Microsoft Research for the summer of 2011 and March to December 2012. At Rice, he leads the Efficient Computing Group to make computing, communication, and interfacing more efficient and effective. He is a recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award and of the best paper awards from ACM MobileHCI 2007, IEEE PerCom 2009, and ACM MobiSys 2011, 2013 and 2014, and ACM ASPLOS 2014. He received the ACM SIGMOBILE Rockstar Award 2014.

James Larus is Professor and Dean of the School of Computer and Communication Sciences (IC) at EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne). Prior to that position, Larus was a researcher and manager in Microsoft Research for over 16 years and an assistant and associate professor in the Computer Sciences Department at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Larus has been an active contributor to the programming languages, compiler, software engineering, and computer architecture communities. He published over 100 papers (with 9 best and most influential paper awards), received 30 US patents, and served on numerous program committees and NSF, NRC, and DARPA panels. His book, Transactional Memory (Morgan Claypool) appeared in 2007. Larus became an ACM Fellow in 2006.