Screenshots

Description

Now registered Windows Phone developers can receive pre-release OS updates on their dev phone, directly from Microsoft! You can use this app to opt-in your phone to receive early Windows Phone updates before they are generally available, enabling you to run and test your app on real hardware running the latest OS before your customers. IMPORTANT REQUIREMENTS AND NOTES: • You must meet one of the following three requirements: (a) have an active Windows Phone Dev Center account; (b) have an active App Studio account; OR (c) be running a registered developer device (‘dev unlocked’ phone) • Updates will only include the Microsoft update, and not additional OEM drivers/firmware • To ensure the best experience, your device must be running the latest OS release (currently 8.0.10322.71) or greater to receive early updates via this program • You will be required to accept additional terms & conditions within the app prior to opt-in • You CANNOT REVERT to a prior OS version once you have taken an update via this program Key features: • Access to latest pre-release Windows Phone updates • Ability to opt-out of pre-releases and only receive production Windows Phone updates

Available on

mobile device

mobile device

System Requirements

Minimum
OS Windows 10 Mobile, Windows Phone 8.1, Windows Phone 8
Architecture x86, x64, ARM
Recommended
OS Windows 10 Mobile, Windows Phone 8.1, Windows Phone 8
Architecture x86, x64, ARM

Additional info

Published by
Microsoft Corporation


Approximate download size
407.76 KB


Category
Utilities & tools



Permissions
Use your device network services
Access your browser


Installation
Install on up to ten Windows 10 devices.


Language supported
English (United States)
中文(中华人民共和国)


Publisher Info
Publisher Website


Additional terms
Preview for Developers license terms



Ratings and reviews

Filter by:

To rate and review, sign in.

Sign in

Rating:5/5

8/29/2016

rozdzan

Platform: Mobile

Why I needs it

this is app is responsible in waste people time a lot....dont try using this app if you want to stay out of trouble

Rating:5/5

7/7/2015

Scott

Platform: Mobile

This is a very beneficial application and being that if is WP OS, it is extremely motivating and stress free in order to sign up and hopefully graduate to A WP Preview Developer. It has given me the push that I needed. Especially since what started out as a hobby turned passion, turning into a waste of effort throughout the the 8-9 months I spent trying to develop a application for Android OS between the 4.0.1-4.1.2 era. I've been successfully accepted as a preview developer for Windows Phone. I updated my HTC ONE M8 too WP 10, and I must say that it is a sufficient revamp, not as much a overhaul as 4.0-4.1 or even 4.4-5.0... There are such gestures that I did notice, and my favorites was the background for the Start Screen. You can choose you're own design and edit it too your preference. Can't wait for the official release for both Windows and WP. I say that BC now going on day

49 out of 54 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

12/22/2014

Matt

Platform: Mobile

On the Lumia 1020 most recent update caused phone not to charge and lock/unlock function not to work. I know for sure that the lock/unlock button still works because I can hold it down and still get the "power off" option.

21 out of 26 people found this helpful.

Rating:4/5

10/26/2014

Mitchell

Platform: Mobile

I love having the ability to update my HTC 8x to reveal the new features released through this program. I've had a couple sim card problems, to where it would go unrecognized until I restart my phone. Also when "change photo" is pressed when trying to change lock screen, freezes and crashes to the start screen multiple times before I get lucky and it goes through to my photos. Other then that I'm digging Cortana and the live folders!

16 out of 19 people found this helpful.

Rating:3/5

10/11/2014

Kyle

Platform: Mobile

The app works great, as advertised and its awesome that Microsoft gives us the option to test out beta software early. I knew the risk. Ever since 8.1 update 1 my 1020 home screen has been a laggy mess and really ruined the smoothness that made the WP experience so wonderful. A hard reset did not help. Once I get back on denim official software I am done with preview.

4 out of 4 people found this helpful.

Rating:4/5

9/4/2014

Charles

Platform: Mobile

Cortana is amazing. Transparent tiles with scrolling pics\ backgrounds is amazing, swipe is awesome 🙆, individual volume controls for ringtones\ notifications vs. Media, Wi-Fi sense connecting and checking "I agree" box and accepting T&c's automatically to open Wi-Fi's. What is not awesome: Apps randomly crash while they are being used lightly for no reason at all, ALOT more loading\ resuming screens, Facebook app is ridiculously slow compared to 8.0 (almost as slow as .com version), and Wi-Fi sense connecting to obviously "

5 out of 7 people found this helpful.

Rating:4/5

8/13/2014

Elijah

Platform: Mobile

I am about to go insane! I didn't download the preview because it would void my warranty. The official release was June 24, but I still don't have the update. I have been checking every day since the release date, please hurry! --edit-- After doing lots of research and enduring four chats with customer service, I found out that the update was released to each phone service provider on June 24. We have to wait until our individual service provider finishes testing the update for compatibility. Which could take up to the end of September! Ugh... I will still be checking every day for the update! --edit-- 7 weeks past release date and still no update. 😞

7 out of 14 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

8/6/2014

Tyler

Platform: Mobile

Amazing app This makes windows phone so much more worthwhile I love the wordflow keyboard, Cortana, and especially the new action center. The quick toggles are useful but its annoying that the wifi one doesn't turn on/off. Instead, the second click of the wifi toggle (which you assume would turn it off) just jumps to the wifi screen. Id rather that you hold down the toggle to jump to the wifi screen instead. I also really don't like the new music app, after every song it plays a short blur of static that gets really annoying. But those small gripes are nothing compared to the beauty of 8.1, and its still very smooth even on a Lumia 520

4 out of 6 people found this helpful.

Rating:2/5

7/1/2014

daniel

Platform: Mobile

The update started great, but updates for the calendar and Bing weather came out and now the calendar crashes when you try to create an event, and the live tile for the weather app is broken. Also unnecessary changes were made to the app and music folders, and I can't buy music in the store anymore. Seriously, come on microsoft

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

Rating:5/5

6/20/2014

Wiiconnaissance

Platform: Mobile

This OS update made my Lumia 920 so much better, I switched back from my Galaxy Note 3 (but still have it, I may switch back when school starts to keep my pen prowess)... I look forward to the final build, but Microsoft really needs to stop spending money on Xbox exclusives and focusing their time and money on WindowsPhone apps due to its broader market. You get top-mark apps and games to the phone and keep improving your accessibility and functionality of your mobile OS and you will win the iOS/Android users out there who do not require or need all of the "flashy" stuff of their OS (especially Android). WindowsPhone 8.1 is a huge leap, but you still have lots of ground to cover. This is a great leap forward; I am so ready for the final build to include future updates of it and its predecessors...

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Rating:/5

Platform:

Developer comment · responded on