App details


Ratings and reviews

Average customer rating

0 stars out of 5
296K ratings

Rating snapshot

Sign in To rate and review, sign in.
3 stars out of 5
· 7/19/2016
Merge it with Messaging + Skype

You've already done a great job by making skype services available on the Messaging+ Skype app, but would want a single app. Messaging +Skype is much faster and whole conversation of a person is recorded in the same location.

3 stars out of 5
· 7/16/2016

App is a huge drain on my battery. Also has a bad habit of sending my notifications to a new message but then not displaying it for awhile. So I have to just sit there and wait...

1 stars out of 5
· 7/14/2016
Moot point

Skype signed me out because I had an outdated version, so I clicked to go and I "got the update". Skype now won't let me sign in until I get the "update so you can enjoy the latest fixes, features and fun.".... and "the update is installed on my computer" has replaced the download link from my first sentence of this review. As it says below the box I'm entering text into right now.... "Note: The name and picture for the Microsoft account you use with the Store will be posted with your review." ... If you see info after I click "Submit", then why on earth aren't I signed in with Skype, the product being reviewed negatively for not letting me make a phone call? Thanks for reading, I guess that all makes my review a moot point? :(

1 stars out of 5
· 7/12/2016

The windows phone needs to be able to send out group calls as well as video chat with groups, without that it is almost completely useless. Recently I haven't even been able to receive group calls, and I'm prompted with a message to "update Skype", claiming I'm using an older version. Despite uninstalling and reinstalling Skype multiple times, I still receive this message, and Skype is set to update on its own. At this point Skype has earned a rating of no better than one star, and until this version of Skype is patched on the windows phone, my review will remain as is.

1 stars out of 5
· 7/16/2016
No Phone call and video call working.

Skype Preview isn't able to connect to Phone call and video call . Update your app soon . Skype was Great for free video calls .

3 stars out of 5
· 7/9/2016
Missing Features

I like the design of it but on my app its missing the "share your screen" button and the "add call" button. Plus it will not let me go to the settings of the app so I can change stuff like sending resolution. Please fix that.

5 stars out of 5
· 7/18/2016
Better video than I remember

I remember Skype video calls having very poor performance... in fact, I always compared Skype to facetime... and always felt facetime had MUCH better performance. Either Skype has gotten much better, or I was always unfairly giving facetime too much praise. Keep up the good work.

2 stars out of 5
· 7/1/2016
Lovely.

This app is cool if you don't mind having everyone download the pictures and having no font applications such as italics and boldness. I prefer the modern Skype where I can just click on a picture to see it instead of having to be redirected to a browser, login, and then wait for the picture to even load. It's annoying. I know the modern version has been discontinued, but can it not be discontinued? I have things I need to get done. This is a new age where people like to move quickly and do things faster. This app needs to catch up to this day in age. Of course, I can still talk to people, but honestly it's not as good as being on my desktop computer or phone, both of which have the modern version of Skype. I'm not on those 24/7. I'm a writer and I need to ask people how something is in the way I want to express it, whether it be through picture or a font. Is that too much to ask? Apparently it is. Lovely.

1 stars out of 5
· 7/13/2016

This is a great app and more people should use it its a great way to take to family that's far away so I rate this app five stars thank you skype

5 stars out of 5
· 7/20/2016
The new skype preview fixes the major problems

This new preview is very solid. It performs just like the version for PCs and syncing of information such as messages and calls is spot on. When it goes love you'll be in for a treat


People also like