Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) STAR Self-Assessment

Microsoft STAR Self-Assessment details how cloud services fulfill Cloud Security Alliance requirements.

Microsoft and CSA STAR Self-Assessment

As part of the STAR Self-Assessment, CSPs can submit two different types of documents to indicate their compliance with CSA best practices: a completed CAIQ, or a report documenting compliance with CCM. For the CSA STAR Self-Assessment, Microsoft publishes both a CAIQ and a CCM-based report for Microsoft Azure, and CCM-based reports for Microsoft Dynamics 365 and Microsoft Office 365.

Learn about the benefits of CSA STAR Self-Assessment on the Microsoft Cloud.

Download the CSA STAR Self-Assessment backgrounder

Learn how to accelerate your CSA STAR Self-Assessment deployment with our Azure Security and Compliance Blueprint.

Download Azure response to the CSA Consensus Assessments

Microsoft in-scope cloud services

CSA STAR Self-Assessment Overview

The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) is a nonprofit organization led by a broad coalition of industry practitioners, corporations, and other important stakeholders. It is dedicated to defining best practices to help ensure a more secure cloud computing environment, and to helping potential cloud customers make informed decisions when transitioning their IT operations to the cloud.

In 2010, the CSA published a suite of tools to assess cloud IT operations: the CSA Governance, Risk Management, and Compliance (GRC) Stack. It was designed to help cloud customers assess how cloud service providers (CSPs) follow industry best practices and standards, and comply with regulations.

In 2013, the CSA and the British Standards Institution launched the Security, Trust & Assurance Registry (STAR), a free, publicly accessible registry in which CSPs can publish their CSA-related assessments.

CSA STAR is based on two key components of the CSA GRC Stack:

  • Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM): a controls framework covering fundamental security principles across 16 domains to help cloud customers assess the overall security risk of a CSP.
  • The Consensus Assessments Initiative Questionnaire (CAIQ): a set of more than 140 questions based on the CCM that a customer or cloud auditor may want to ask of CSPs to assess their compliance with CSA best practices.

STAR provides three levels of assurance; CSA STAR Self-Assessment is the introductory offering at Level 1, which is free and open to all CSPs. Going further up the assurance stack, Level 2 of the STAR program involves third-party assessment-based certifications, and Level 3 involves certifications based on continuous monitoring.

Manage your compliance from one place

Perform ongoing risk assessment, get actionable insights, and simplify your compliance process when using Microsoft cloud services with Compliance Manager.

Try Compliance Manager nowRead the Security, Privacy and Compliance blog

Frequently asked questions

Expand all

The CCM corresponds to industry-accepted security standards, regulations, and control frameworks such as ISO 27001, PCI DSS, HIPAA, AICPA SOC 2, NERC CIP, FedRAMP, NIST, and many more. For the most current list, visit the CSA website.

It enables CSPs to document compliance with CSA published best practices in a transparent manner. Self-assessment reports are publicly available, thereby helping cloud customers gain visibility into the security practices of CSPs, as well as compare various CSPs using the same baseline.

  • Level 1: CSA STAR Self-Assessment: Azure, Dynamics 365, and Office 365. The Self-Assessment is a complimentary offering from cloud service providers to document their security controls to help customers assess the security of the service.
  • Level 2: CSA STAR Certification: Azure, Cloud App Security, Intune, and Power BI. STAR Certification is based on achieving ISO/IEC 27001 certification and meeting criteria specified in the CCM. It is awarded after a rigorous third-party assessment of the security controls and practices of a cloud service provider.
  • Level 2: CSA STAR Attestation: Azure and Intune. CSA and the AICPA have collaborated to provide guidelines for CPAs to use in conducting SOC 2 engagements, using criteria from the AICPA (Trust Service Principles, AT 101) and the CSA CCM. STAR Attestation is based on these guidelines and is awarded after rigorous independent assessments of cloud providers.