Click Here to Install Silverlight*
United StatesChange|All Microsoft Sites

Typography Home   Typography Home

Links, news & contacts > News archive > Full news story

STA Board

Chicago, IL. - 25 June 2001

The Society of Typographic Arts (The STA) has installed it's 2001 board of directors.

Press release


Chicago, IL. The Society of Typographic Arts (The STA) has recently been reincorporated in the State of Illinois.

The STA has a long and prestigious history as a professional association for designers in Chicago. Originally established in 1927 the Society existed until 1989 and was reestablished in 2000. The mission of the STA is: 1. To promote high standards in all branches of the typographic, graphic, communication, and related design arts; 2. To foster and encourage education in these arts; 3. To elevate public awareness in all matters concerning these arts; 4. to cooperate with all other organizations, institutions, and allied professionals having similar aims; and 5. To promote opportunities for fellowship among design professionals in Chicago and the Midwest.

An interim Board of Directors consisting of Carol Backe, Matt Doherty, Paul Hanover, Janet Hill, Chris Kean, Gary Marks, Nate Marks, Nancy Nord, Wayne Stuetzer and Louis Tessing served for one year during the re-incorporation process. The first official Board of Directors under the newly incorporated STA has recently been elected. The Officers and Directors are:

President: Nate Marks (MarketingMarks Corporation) Vice President: Louise Tessing (Tessing Design, Inc.) Secretary: Dawn Peccatiello (dawn design) Treasurer: Paul Hanover (A to Z Type and Graphics, Inc.) Director, Development: Oscar Anderson (LaSalle Banks/ABN AMERO) Director, Advisory Board: Bart Blankenburg (BlankenburgAssociates) Director, Programs: Matt Doherty (Matthew Doherty Design) Director, Membership: Bob McCamant (Chicago Reader, Inc.) Director,Communications: George Thompson (Columbia College, Chicago) Please check out the STA web site at

article posted 2 July 2001 and last updated 2 July 2001.

© 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy & Cookies