Chercher sur le site Sécurité Microsoft
Chercher sur Microsoft.com

Qu'est-ce qu'un logiciel anti-virus ?

Qu'est-ce qu'un logiciel anti-virus ?

Un logiciel antivirus est un programme informatique qui détecte, empêche et prend des mesures pour désarmer ou supprimer des programmes informatiques malveillants, tels que des virus et des vers. Vous pouvez protéger votre ordinateur contre des virus en utilisant un logiciel antivirus, tel que Microsoft Security Essentials.

Les virus informatiques sont des programmes logiciels qui sont délibérément conçus pour interférer dans le fonctionnement de votre ordinateur ; enregistrer, corrompre, ou supprimer des données ; ou les propager à d'autres ordinateurs et sur Internet.

Pour permettre d'empêcher les virus les plus courants, vous devez mettre à jour votre logiciel antivirus régulièrement. Vous pouvez paramétrer la plupart des types de logiciels antivirus pour qu'ils se mettent à jour automatiquement.

Pour une protection à la demande, le scanner de sécurité Windows Live vous permet de visiter un site Internet et d'analyser votre ordinateur à la recherche de virus et d'autres logiciels malveillants gratuitement.

Search Microsoft Security
Search Microsoft.com

What is antivirus software?

What is antivirus software?

Antivirus software is a computer program that detects, prevents, and takes action to disarm or remove malicious software programs, such as viruses and worms. You can help protect your computer against viruses by using antivirus software, such as Microsoft Security Essentials.

Note: In Windows 8, Windows Defender replaces Microsoft Security Essentials. Windows Defender runs in the background and notifies you when you need to take specific action. However, you can use it anytime to scan for malware if your computer isn’t working properly or you clicked a suspicious link online or in an email message.

Learn more about Windows Defender.

Computer viruses are software programs that are deliberately designed to interfere with computer operation; record, corrupt, or delete data; or spread themselves to other computers and throughout the Internet.

To help prevent the most current viruses, you must update your antivirus software regularly. You can set up most types of antivirus software to update automatically.

For on-demand protection, the Microsoft Safety Scanner allows you to visit a website and scan your computer for viruses and other malicious software for free.