Internet Explorer was retired on June 15, 2022

IE 11 is no longer accessible. You can reload Internet Explorer sites with IE mode in Microsoft Edge.
Internet Explorer is changing to Edge.


This paper contains an introduction to the Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) and step-by-step instructions for creating a test lab that demonstrates the deployment and configuration of EMET 5.2.

Important! Selecting a language below will dynamically change the complete page content to that language.

  • Version:


    Date Published:


    File Name:

    TLG EMET 5.2.docx

    File Size:

    978.2 KB

    The Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) is an anti-vulnerability exploitation toolkit that can be layered onto the Windows OS in addition to other security technologies to raise the bar for exploits to work properly. It has been increasingly recommended by various IT Security frameworks and governing bodies. EMET provides additional memory corruption protection for commonly used Internet facing applications. In the past 2 years EMET has commonly been detailed as a known mitigation for 0-day vulnerabilities that were actively being exploited. For more information about EMET, see & Microsoft Test Lab Guides (TLGs) are a set of documents that step you through the configuration and demonstration of a Microsoft technology or product in a standardized test lab environment, which starts with a common base configuration that mimics a simplified intranet and the Internet. TLGs are designed to be modular, extensible, and stackable to configure complex, multi-product solutions. TLGs make learning about products, technologies, and solutions easier by providing that crucial hands-on, “I built it out myself” experience. For more information, see Test Lab Guides at
  • Supported Operating Systems

    Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2

    Supported Operating System Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows Vista - EMET 5.2 requires .NET Framework 4. - For Internet Explorer 10 on Windows 8 you need to install KB2790907 – a mandatory Application Compatibility update that has been released on March 12th, 2013 or any other Application Compatibility updates for Windows 8 after that. EMET 5.2 supports the following operating systems and service pack levels: Client Operating Systems • Windows Vista Service Pack 2 • Windows 7 Service Pack 1 • Windows 8 • Windows 8.1 Server Operation Systems • Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2 • Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 • Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 • Windows Server 2012 • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Instructions included in this guide.
Follow Microsoft