Microsoft at SIGCOMM 2019

Microsoft at SIGCOMM 2019


Microsoft is excited to be a Silver sponsor for this year’s flagship annual conference SIGCOMM ACM (Special Interest Group on Data Communication) on the applications, technologies, architectures, and protocols for computer communication. Stop by our booth to chat with our experts, see demos of our latest research and find out about career opportunities with Microsoft.

Committee Chairs

Wei Bai, Registration Chair
Paolo Costa, Topic Preview Chair
Yongqiang Xiong, Mentoring Chair

Program Committee members

Hitesh Ballani
Srikanth Kandula
Thomas Karagiannis
Mike Chieh-Jan Liang

Organizing Committee members

Paolo Costa
Wei Bai
Yongqiang Xiong

Microsoft attendees

Ganesh Ananthanarayanan
Victor Bahl
Wei Bai
Hitesh Ballani
Ryan Beckett
Nikolaj Bjorner
Paolo Costa
Daniel Fay
Kent Foster
Jun He
Karthick Jayaraman
Jing Kan
Ling Liang
Hui Ma
Xin Ma
David Maltz
Kenneth McMillan
Zhixiong Niu
Jitendra Padhye
Venkat Padmanabhan
Siddhartha Sen
Yongqiang Xiong
Jianan Yang
Lihua Yuan


Monday, August 19

12:05 PM–5:30 PM
ACM SIGCOMM 2019 Workshop on Optical Systems Design (OptSys)
Co-organizer: Paolo Costa

Tuesday, August 20

10:45 AM–12:00 PM
TEAVAR: Striking the Right Utilization-Availability Balance in WAN Traffic Engineering
Jeremy Bogle, Nikhil Bhatia, Manya Ghobadi, Ishai Menache, Nikolaj Bjorner, Asaf Valadarsky, Michael Schapira

1:30 PM–3:10 PM
SocksDirect: Datacenter Sockets can be Fast and Compatible
Bojie Li, Tianyi Cui, Zibo Wang, Wei Bai, Lintao Zhang

3:40 PM–5:20 PM
Zooming in on Wide-area Latencies to a Global Cloud Provider
Yuchen Jin, Sundararajan Renganathan, Ganesh Ananthanarayanan, Junchen Jiang, Venkata N. Padmanabhan, Manuel Schröder, Matt Calder, Arvind Krishnamurthy

Wednesday, August 21

1:30 PM–2:45 PM
Validating Datacenters at Scale
Karthick Jayaraman, Nikolaj Bjorner, Jitu Padhye, Amar Agrawal, Ashish Bhargava, Paul-André Bissonnette, Shane Foster, Andrew Helwer, Mark Kasten, Ivan Lee, Anup Namdhari, Haseeb Niaz, Aniruddha Parkhi, Hanukumar Pinnamraju, Adrian Power, Neha Milind Raje, Parag Sharma

1:30 PM–2:45 PM
Formal Specification and Testing of QUIC
Kennneth L McMillan, Lenore D Zuck

Thursday, August 22

10:45 AM–12:00 PM
E2E: Embracing User Heterogeneity to Improve Quality of Experience on the Web
Xu Zhang, Siddhartha Sen, Daniar Kurniawan, Haryadi Gunawi, Junchen Jiang

Friday, August 23

8:30 AM–5:00 PM
ACM SIGCOMM 2019 Workshop on Networking and Programming Languages (NetPL 2019)
Co-organizer: Ryan Beckett

8:30 AM–5:00 PM
ACM SIGCOMM 2019 Workshop on Network Meets AI & ML (NetAI 2019)
Programming Committee Members: Behnaz Arzani, Srikanth Kandula


ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Paper Award – 2019

VL2: A Scalable and Flexible Data Center Network (SIGCOMM 2009)

Albert Greenberg, James R. Hamilton, Navendu Jain, Srikanth Kandula, Changhoon Kim, Parantap Lahiri, Dave A. Maltz, Parveen Patel, Sudipta Sengupta

This paper articulated the core design principles that have become the foundation for modern datacenter networks: scalable Clos topologies, randomized load-balanced routing, and virtual networks constructed by decoupling endpoint addresses and locations. By convincingly arguing for these principles, and providing one of the first glimpses into real-world datacenter network traffic characteristics, this paper has had enduring impact on both the practice of datacenter network design and the large body of research on the topic that has followed over the last decade.

Microsoft ACM & IEEE Awards

Victor Bahl
Distinguished Scientist, Director Mobility & Networking Research
ACM Distinguished Service Award
SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award
IEEE Koji Kobayashi Award
INFOCOM Lifetime Achievement Award
IEEE Outstanding Leadership & Professional Service Award
Test of Time Awards (2)
ACM & IEEE Distinguished Speaker
SIGMOBILE Distinguished Service Award
ACM Fellow, IEEE Fellow, AAAS Fellow

Albert Greenberg
Corporate Vice President, Azure Networking
SIGCOMM Award for Lifetime Contribution
IEEE Koji Kobayashi Award
Test of Time Awards (2)
ACM Fellow, NAE Member