Group Reporting and Summary: Transforming Scholarly Communication


October 25, 2011


Alex Wade, Alyssa Goodman, Amy Brand, Cameron Neylon, Carl Lagoze, Chris Lintott, Curtis Wong, David De Roure, Lee Dirks, Mary Lee Kennedy, Mercé Crosas, Phil Bourne, and Tony Hey


Microsoft, Microsoft Research, University of Oxford & Galaxy Zoo, University of Southampton, Science Commons Event


In this sesssion of the October 2011 eScience Workshop: Transforming Scholarly Communication, representatives from each group contribute to a shared summary, including highlights and challenges covered in the meeting, and conclude with a call to action for the group, based on their findings

Moderators: Tony Hey, corporate vice president, Microsoft Research Connections and Lee Dirks, director, Microsoft Research Connections, with Marguey Avery, Editor, MIT Press


Alex Wade, Alyssa Goodman, Amy Brand, Cameron Neylon, Carl Lagoze, Chris Lintott, Curtis Wong, David De Roure, Lee Dirks, Mary Lee Kennedy, Mercé Crosas, Phil Bourne, and Tony Hey

Carl Lagoze is an Associate Professor in the Information Science Department at Cornell University. His early research explored Digital Libraries and focused Web-based protocols and architectures for interoperability. His early work produced with colleagues a number of fundamental digital library and web-based technologies including the Fedora digital repository architecture, Dienst, the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting, the ABC metadata ontology, and the Open Archives Initiative Object Reuse and Exchange Model. His current work focuses on the sociotechnical aspects of information exchange and sharing in scholarly communities, with a focus on data.

Alyssa Goodman is Professor of Astronomy at Harvard University, and Research Associate at the Smithsonian. Her research group at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics in Cambridge, MA study dense gas between the stars, and how interstellar gas arranges itself into new stars, using techniques covering the spectral range from X- ray to radio. Goodman is P.I. of The COMPLETE Survey of Star-Forming Regions, which mapped out three very large star-forming regions in our Galaxy in their entirety. The COMPLETE Survey represents a data set of unparalleled diversity and is one thousand times larger than what was available a decade ago, and enables astrophysicists to address questions about how many stars like the Sun can form from a given mass of gas. Goodman co-founded and directed The Initiative in Innovative Computing (IIC) at Harvard, a multi-disciplinary center fostering new work at the boundary between computing and science. Presently, she is working closely with colleagues at Microsoft Research, helping to expand the use of the Worldwide Telescope program. Goodman received her undergraduate degree in Physics from MIT and a Ph.D. in Physics from Harvard in. She held a President’s Fellowship at the University of California at Berkeley, after which she took up a post as Assistant Professor of Astronomy at Harvard. She also received the Newton Lacy Pierce Prize from the American Astronomical Society for her work on interstellar matter. She currently serves as Chair of the Astronomy Section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

As corporate vice president of the External Research Division of Microsoft Research, Tony Hey is responsible for the worldwide external research and technical computing strategy across Microsoft Corporation. He leads the company’s efforts to build long-term public-private partnerships with global scientific and engineering communities, spanning broad reach and in-depth engagements with academic and research institutions, related government agencies and industry partners. His responsibilities also include working with internal Microsoft groups to build future technologies and products that will transform computing for scientific and engineering research. Hey also oversees Microsoft Research’s efforts to enhance the quality of higher education around the world.

Before joining Microsoft, Hey served as director of the U.K.’s e-Science Initiative, managing the government’s efforts to provide scientists and researchers with access to key computing technologies. Before leading this initiative, Hey worked as Head of the School of Electronics and Computer Science; and, Dean of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Southampton, where he helped build the department into one of the most respected computer science research institutions in England.

His research interests focus on parallel programming for parallel systems built from mainstream commodity components. With Jack Dongarra, Rolf Hempel and David Walker, he wrote the first draft of a specification for a new message-passing standard called MPI. This initiated the process that led to the successful MPI standard of today.

Hey is a fellow of the U.K.’s Royal Academy of Engineering. He also has served on several national committees in the U.K., including committees of the U.K. Department of Trade and Industry and the Office of Science and Technology. He was a member of the British Computer Society, the Institute of Engineering and Technology, and the Institute of Physics.

Tony Hey also has a passionate interest in communicating the excitement of science to young people. He has written ‘popular’ books on quantum mechanics and on relativity.

Hey is a graduate of Oxford University, with both an undergraduate degree in physics and a doctorate in theoretical physics.