Anirudh Badam is a researcher in the Systems Research Group (Redmond) at Microsoft Research. He is interested in problems pertaining to system support for new memory technologies (project Navamem), and energy efficiency of mobile systems (Battery Research at Microsoft). He has a PhD from Princeton University (2012) and an undergraduate degree from IIT Madras (2006) in computer science. He joined Microsoft Research in September 2012.


November 2018: Invited to serve on the PC of HotStorage’19
September 2018: Invited to chair NVMW’19
August 2018: Invited to serve on the PC of SYSTOR’19
August 2018: Serving on the PC of HPCA’19
May 2018: HyperLoop accepted to ACM SIGCOMM’18
March 2018: Featured on the Microsoft Research Podcast
January 2018: Serving as the WiP & Poster session chair at USENIX FAST’18
June 2017: Navamem received the MSR Redmond Outstanding Project Award
June 2017: Received the MSR Redmond Rockstar Award
May 2017: Invited to serve on the PC of USENIX FAST’18
April 2017: LSNVM accepted to USENIX ATC’17
March 2017: Viyojit accepted to ISCA’17
January 2017: KaminoTx accepted to EuroSys’17
January 2017: Serving as the poster session chair at USENIX NSDI’17
December 2016: FlashBlox accepted to USENIX FAST’17
December 2016: CACM Research Highlight on Software-Defined Batteries
November 2016: IEEE Pervasive Computing magazine Research Spotlight on offloading work
August 2016: Invited to serve on the heavy PC of NSDI’17
January 2016: FlashMap receives an Honorable Mention at the IEEE Micro Top Picks 2016
July 2015: WearDrive wins best paper award at USENIX ATC’15
June 2015: Software-Defined Batteries accepted to SOSP’15
June 2015: FaRM accepted to SOSP’15
April 2015: WearDrive accepted to USENIX ATC’15
March 2015: FlashMap accepted to ISCA’15





Anirudh Badam has served on the following committees:

Anirudh Badam had the pleasure of working with the following interns:

  • Jing Li (UCSD) – 2013
  • Jian Huang (GeorgiaTech) – 2013, 2014, 2015
  • Anthony Ferrese (Berkeley) – 2014
  • Evangelia Skiani (Columbia) – 2014
  • Pan Hu (UMass Amherst/Stanford) – 2014, 2015
  • Ram Alagappan (Wisconsin) – 2015
  • Amirsaman Memaripour (UCSD) – 2015, 2016, 2017
  • Yanqi Zhou (Princeton) – 2015
  • Matt Lentz (Maryland) – 2016
  • Rajat Kateja (CMU) – 2016
  • Vasuki Narasimha Swamy (Berkeley) – 2016
  • Iyswarya Narayanan (PennState) – 2017
  • Aishwarya Ganesan (Wisconsin) – 2017
  • Daehyeok Kim (CMU) – 2017
  • Andiry Xu (UCSD) – 2017